We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of de Verbeelding

de Verbeelding
Oude Burg 26, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 82 94
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $12 - $31
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ostend, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We've been tasting the lovely food at De Verbeelding for some years now. It's a marvellous place: warm and friendly people, a nice place to be in, and lastly but not at least: very good food at reasonable prices. The Verbeelding Salad is one of our summer favourites, but we've been enjoying the fish dishes and desserts as well. Keep up the good work!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    31
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Decent food at an honest price with friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is the only restaurant in Bruges that we were delighted with. The food was homecooked and delicious. Much more variety that in other establishments. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. Lastly, the prices were so much more reasonable than anywhere else. I would go straight back next time.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“FABULOUS.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

A most wonderful friendly family owned restaurant offering some fantastic food, the pork cheeks are amazing. There's a great beer selection and the prices were a pleasant surprise.
We visited the De Verbeelding because of the high ratings on trip advisor and they are fully justified. A great place, highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A great evening at de Verbeelding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

Try the frogs legs, they are excellent. Went down well with my children aged 6 and 11! Super friendly service, but be aware, closed Sundays. Best to book in advance. Good honest food, with tapas starting at 4 euros. Very accommodating, nothing is too much trouble. Good selection of beers.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“they just get it right”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We arrived in Bruges on a saturday evening in what can only be considered a monsoon type rainstorm. Wandered about and most places were fully booked. A place at the bar was offered here and our spirits quickly lifted. Very good tapas and some great pasta dishes ( tip - if small portions are offered take one, Belgian portions always seem to be gigantic). Lovely service. Would happily return.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed de Verbeelding also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to de Verbeelding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage de Verbeelding, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.