We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't try the food because the waiter was so arrogant!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of De Vlaamsche Pot

De Vlaamsche Pot
Helmstraat 3-5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050340086
Improve this listing
Ranked #228 of 524 restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Didn't try the food because the waiter was so arrogant!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We arrived today November 6 at 2:00 pm to a relatively empty restaurant in the slow season. We attempted to sit at a table with 4 places and were informed that as we were a party of two we must sit at a table for two. Couldn't help but notice that in the same room there were at least three parties of two sitting at tables for four. There was one party of three sitting at a table for four, but a dog made the third. Not a good start. We then asked what is the size of a starter order of mussels as we were not overly hungry. We were informed that we would be charged an additional 5 euros if we ate a starter as our only course and had to buy two starters. We then asked if we could split a main order of mussels and we were informed that we had to buy two mains. At this point my wife and I looked and into each other's eyes and communicated our mutual decision to leave. As has been noted in earlier reviews we were not in any way encouraged to stay. This is insulting.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hojas, Owner at De Vlaamsche Pot, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
what a coincidence that every time people don t want to pay, they accuse a waiter to be arrogant,
luckily for them there is trip advisor...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    213
    155
    62
    46
    78
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience in my 43 years of life!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The Duke's Palace recommended this restaurant for our family. We requested a non tourist attraction with a warm atmosphere and traditional and consistently good food. This place did not tick any of these boxes. Upon entering de vlaamsche pot you instantly see commercialism at best with their cookbooks and tea towels for sale in multiple languages (why didn't we just run!) The staff were arrogant and starters mediocre. We left 90 minutes into our visit without our dinner as the chef had not even started our main courses and we had to settle for street food. We were not even offered an apology, but had to go as our children were starving. The atmosphere was a 10 out 10 for cheesy tourist trap. In lieu of a real fire there were videos of fire flames framed on the walls of the upstairs dining rooms. What a massive disappointment to only have 48 hours in one of the gastronomic centres of the world and to have wasted it on this horrid place . To be specific we ordered two orders of shrimp croquettes and one moules in white wine to start. We waited for a very long time to receive one portion of Shrimp croquettes with runny insides and one pot of moules that tasted of dirty dishwater and that were full of grit! By looking at other plates of meals served around us, I do not feel as though we missed much by not receiving our mains. The manager of the restaurant could not have cared less that we left without our food and never apologised and further suggested that we complain on trip advisor with our review, so here it is .... This restaurant should definitely be a miss.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The smell wafting out of this restaurant was enough to lure us in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We weren't looking for a large meal but just walking past this place was enough, the smell of cooking was amazing. Traditional setting with really tasty food. Long wait for food, but we were on holiday so we didn't mind waiting, it was nice to relax knowing we weren't being rushed. Worth the wait and if you want a traditional Flemish stew, go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food - very busy - slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The atmosphere was good and the Restaurant was very busy on a Wednesday evening. It is well worth making a reservation. We were seated with other tourists in an upstairs room pleasantly decorated. The staff were helpful.

My wife and I ordered the set Flemish menu for about 33 Euros. We did not receive our first course until an hour after we arrived - the delay was probably to do with how busy it was. A lovely pate with salad was the first course followed by Flemish Beef Stew and chips. The portions were huge - we could only finish half the casserole dish between us ! It was hot, wholesome and very tasty. Dessert was vanilla ice cream which was very watery and inferior. It was not nearly as good as we have had in other Restaurants in Brugge.

Would we go there again ? Probably not but well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Real Flemish food, large plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you want to eat real Flemish food, you should definitely visit De Vlaamsche Pot! Try the waterzooi (Fish Stew) or the rabbit stew. The plates are really big, we were two persons, but we could not finish the meals. The atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Vlaamsche Pot also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province

Been to De Vlaamsche Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vlaamsche Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.