We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst dining experience in my 43 years of life!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of De Vlaamsche Pot

De Vlaamsche Pot
Helmstraat 3-5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050340086
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 521 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Worst dining experience in my 43 years of life!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

The Duke's Palace recommended this restaurant for our family. We requested a non tourist attraction with a warm atmosphere and traditional and consistently good food. This place did not tick any of these boxes. Upon entering de vlaamsche pot you instantly see commercialism at best with their cookbooks and tea towels for sale in multiple languages (why didn't we just run!) The staff were arrogant and starters mediocre. We left 90 minutes into our visit without our dinner as the chef had not even started our main courses and we had to settle for street food. We were not even offered an apology, but had to go as our children were starving. The atmosphere was a 10 out 10 for cheesy tourist trap. In lieu of a real fire there were videos of fire flames framed on the walls of the upstairs dining rooms. What a massive disappointment to only have 48 hours in one of the gastronomic centres of the world and to have wasted it on this horrid place . To be specific we ordered two orders of shrimp croquettes and one moules in white wine to start. We waited for a very long time to receive one portion of Shrimp croquettes with runny insides and one pot of moules that tasted of dirty dishwater and that were full of grit! By looking at other plates of meals served around us, I do not feel as though we missed much by not receiving our mains. The manager of the restaurant could not have cared less that we left without our food and never apologised and further suggested that we complain on trip advisor with our review, so here it is .... This restaurant should definitely be a miss.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    291
    226
    87
    67
    95
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The smell wafting out of this restaurant was enough to lure us in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We weren't looking for a large meal but just walking past this place was enough, the smell of cooking was amazing. Traditional setting with really tasty food. Long wait for food, but we were on holiday so we didn't mind waiting, it was nice to relax knowing we weren't being rushed. Worth the wait and if you want a traditional Flemish stew, go here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good food - very busy - slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The atmosphere was good and the Restaurant was very busy on a Wednesday evening. It is well worth making a reservation. We were seated with other tourists in an upstairs room pleasantly decorated. The staff were helpful.

My wife and I ordered the set Flemish menu for about 33 Euros. We did not receive our first course until an hour after we arrived - the delay was probably to do with how busy it was. A lovely pate with salad was the first course followed by Flemish Beef Stew and chips. The portions were huge - we could only finish half the casserole dish between us ! It was hot, wholesome and very tasty. Dessert was vanilla ice cream which was very watery and inferior. It was not nearly as good as we have had in other Restaurants in Brugge.

Would we go there again ? Probably not but well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real Flemish food, large plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you want to eat real Flemish food, you should definitely visit De Vlaamsche Pot! Try the waterzooi (Fish Stew) or the rabbit stew. The plates are really big, we were two persons, but we could not finish the meals. The atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Portions are huge - you may want to skip the starter! Tip of the hat to Rick Steeves for recommending "The Flemish Pot" in his latest Bruges travel book. We loved the quaint, cozy, atmosphere. Leisurely is a key word - enjoy yourself, take it all in, wait for the "french fry fairy" to reappear again and again. Off the beaten path and just lovely. Hope to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Vlaamsche Pot also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Vlaamsche Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vlaamsche Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.