We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food - very busy - slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De Vlaamsche Pot

De Vlaamsche Pot
Helmstraat 3-5, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050340086
Improve this listing
Ranked #243 of 532 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Bath, England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food - very busy - slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The atmosphere was good and the Restaurant was very busy on a Wednesday evening. It is well worth making a reservation. We were seated with other tourists in an upstairs room pleasantly decorated. The staff were helpful.

My wife and I ordered the set Flemish menu for about 33 Euros. We did not receive our first course until an hour after we arrived - the delay was probably to do with how busy it was. A lovely pate with salad was the first course followed by Flemish Beef Stew and chips. The portions were huge - we could only finish half the casserole dish between us ! It was hot, wholesome and very tasty. Dessert was vanilla ice cream which was very watery and inferior. It was not nearly as good as we have had in other Restaurants in Brugge.

Would we go there again ? Probably not but well worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    164
    66
    49
    83
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Real Flemish food, large plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

If you want to eat real Flemish food, you should definitely visit De Vlaamsche Pot! Try the waterzooi (Fish Stew) or the rabbit stew. The plates are really big, we were two persons, but we could not finish the meals. The atmosphere is very nice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Portions are huge - you may want to skip the starter! Tip of the hat to Rick Steeves for recommending "The Flemish Pot" in his latest Bruges travel book. We loved the quaint, cozy, atmosphere. Leisurely is a key word - enjoy yourself, take it all in, wait for the "french fry fairy" to reappear again and again. Off the beaten path and just lovely. Hope to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to enjoy a true Belgium style meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

This is a really quaint and nice place. Had dinner here a few years ago and was glad I stumbled upon it again. The steak I had was a bit tough so get the filet instead of the Black and Blue( just that the cut is not a tenderloin). The service was good and the folks friendly. Of course you get french fries( or Belgium fries). Will keep coming back here like the feel.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Cozy, away from the crowd, friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Down an alley, off a shopping street, sits this beautiful restaurant where we had a leisurely, authentic Flemish price fixed lunch. The other diners were all locals. One of us had the North Sea Fish Stew and the other the Sauteed Beef. Both were done to perfection. The service was definitely slower than your usual tourist place, but the surroundings were so pleasant and the food so good, we didn't mind missing some of the other destinations. Well worth the price of about $100 for 3 courses for 2.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De Vlaamsche Pot also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to De Vlaamsche Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De Vlaamsche Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.