We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two excellent tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quasimodo Tours

Quasimodo Tours
c/o Kapellestraat 87 | Oostkamp, Bruges 8020, Belgium
+32 50 37 04 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Activities in Bruges
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In Flanders Fields (Tour 1) Since 1990, Quasimodo takes you on a personal and relaxing minibus trip along Passchenendaele, Hill 60, various cemeteries, trenches and bunkers, the Menin Gate, different monuments (Anzac, Canadian), in brief all highlights. As from this year you can also add the Last Post Ceremony to the tour after which we bring you back to your hotel in Bruges. Best of Belgium tour or Triple Treat (Tour 2) Discover the Belgian Delights A laidback meander through the beautiful countryside around Bruges featuring historical Damme, Castles of Tillegem and Loppem, monastery Ter Doest, interwoven with Chocolate, a Belgian Waffle, finishing with a quadruple Beer tasting.
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Two excellent tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I completely agree with all the excellent reviews of the Battlefields Tour.
We also did the Taste of Belgium experience which was also excellent. Our guide was interesting and entertaining and the range of places we visited gave us a real flavour of the area - wholeheartedly recommend both!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    38
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
107 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Great Value, Fascinating Information and a Day to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We were picked up by taxi from our hotel and met up with the coach on the outskirts of Bruges. The driver/guide was a mine of information and a great teller of stories, painting a picture in your mind of the events of WWI with great clarity and precision. We went from a German cemetery to a British one (Tyne Cot). Polygon wood, Hill 60, etc and finally to the Menin Gate and Ypres.

We were able to buy an excellent history book and the museum at the Hooge Crater was excellent - as was the meal. I could have done with more interpretation of the museum items but that was out of Quasimodo's hands.

The whole experience was so moving that many were brought to tears and even the semi abandoned British WWI excavation was brought to life by Phil. The Hill 60 site was perhaps the most interesting as it has been left alone - craters, bunkers and all.

Well done Quasimodo - we wondered how Phil could keep up the enthusiasm levels day after day - he certainly has the golden tongue and waxes lyrical.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Flanders Fields Battlefields Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The tour of the Flanders Battlefields with Philippe was a very special and memorable experience for us both. This visit is highly recommended and should not be missed by anyone visiting the northern or western part of Belgium. Philippe's attention to detail and wealth of knowledge was complemented by his many poignant and interesting stories about the soldiers who fought in the Great War. We stayed in Ypres for the Last Post at the Menen Gate; this was a moving experience, also not to be missed.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Everything you could ask for and more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Two tour guides Sharon and Phillipe really push the boat out on the Battlefields tour. You can arrange a pick up at your hotel (where possible). The tour itself is at a steady pace and is incredibly informative. An open sandwich at a museum cafe is included in the tour. What made it even more special was that if, like us, you had an ancestor that is named at one of the memorials or cemeteries, they will include a visit to that specific memorial or grave at no extra cost. Also, if you get chance, stay around in Ieper for the Last Post Ceremony.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“High Praise for Quasimodo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

The tour of Flanders Fields with Philippe was a highlight for our trip in Belgium. We appreciated his professional and flexible approach which allowed us to visit the gravesite of our friend's family member. Our grandfathers were soldiers in the trenches and in the tunnels so it was an emotional and very informative tour.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quasimodo Tours also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Quasimodo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quasimodo Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.