We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Trip to the Flanders Fields” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quasimodo Tours

Quasimodo Tours
c/o Kapellestraat 87 | Oostkamp, Bruges 8020, Belgium
+32 50 37 04 70
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 41 Activities in Bruges
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: In Flanders Fields (Tour 1) Since 1990, Quasimodo takes you on a personal and relaxing minibus trip along Passchenendaele, Hill 60, various cemeteries, trenches and bunkers, the Menin Gate, different monuments (Anzac, Canadian), in brief all highlights. As from this year you can also add the Last Post Ceremony to the tour after which we bring you back to your hotel in Bruges. Best of Belgium tour or Triple Treat (Tour 2) Discover the Belgian Delights A laidback meander through the beautiful countryside around Bruges featuring historical Damme, Castles of Tillegem and Loppem, monastery Ter Doest, interwoven with Chocolate, a Belgian Waffle, finishing with a quadruple Beer tasting.
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip to the Flanders Fields”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

A big thank you to Phil for a fantastic and informative trip to the Flander Fields. Phil's knowledge of the local area and all the poignant events that occurred there during World War 1 was second to none.

All of the stops throughout the day are well planned and thought through. I expected the day to be extremely emotional but the cemeteries & Menin gate in Ypres provide a sense of calm and peace rather than sadness.

I would recommend this tour to anyone looking for an excellent & informative trip to the Flanders Fields.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    784
    38
    2
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“World War 1 Battlefield Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was a great tour.
Everything advertised was seen and received.
Great commentary by Phillippe
A really soul searching day that everyone should experience to cement in our minds that the consequences are never the expected outcomes

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent, well-balanced Flanders Fields tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We recently spent a beautiful spring day with Philippe touring the Ypres Salient area in a comfortable mini-bus. We came to the tour knowing very little about World War I and ended the day with a much greater awareness of both the causes and chronology of events, the conditions in which the soldiers lived (and died) from day to day, and the effect of this front on the local people both then and now. Philippe is extremely knowledgeable about his subject, and very passionate in sharing the information with you. Plus, he is very balanced in his presentation, describing the incompetence of generals and travesties committed by both sides with poison gas. It's a vast site, overtaken by modern development in places, and it would be very difficult to see and understand the significance of locations without a guide like Philippe. As he said, one cannot see everything in one day, but the mix of stops he chose gave a good summary. In addition to the various national cemeteries/memorials mentioned by other reviewers, we appreciated the inclusion of a visit to a German cemetery, reminding us of the tragedy of such a meat-grinder approach to war for the foot soldiers of both sides. And pointing out unexploded ordinance by the roadside, dug up by local farmers plowing their fields and set out for pickup by authorities, was a sobering indication of how Belgians are still suffering the consequences of this war. After Philippe's description and photos of the devastated landscape, we were better able to understand the letters home by a great great uncle who served in the area, and why he never seemed the same when he came home. Overall, a great tour, and the group was of manageable size for individual questions (I believe the van holds 30, and our group totaled 27).

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
“Battlefields with a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Thanks Quasimodo Tours for a great day.
From the very start of the tour, the bus arrived right on time, to the drop off the whole day was well organised and informative. Phil's knowledge for the subject was endless and even with such an emotive subject his sense of humour showed. The bus was clean and comfortable and hard to miss when returning to meet points with it's bright colours and logo. Lunch was at a fantastic museum, packed with information and displays. If you want to know more about the first world war, see cemeteries, trenches, monuments, the Menin Gate and Ypres then this is the tour for you, would thoroughly recommend it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Trip.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

An enjoyable and informative trip to the Flanders battlefields.
We were picked up and dropped off close to our hotel and given plenty of information at each stop.
The lunch was basic but tasty and the small museum was superb.
I would recommend Quasimodo Tours to anyone visiting the cemeteries and battlefields of the First World War. Much better than visiting the places on your own.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quasimodo Tours also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Quasimodo Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quasimodo Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.