We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for a special occasion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hostellerie Pannenhuis

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hostellerie Pannenhuis to your Saves list
Hostellerie Pannenhuis
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Zandstraat 2 - Sint-Andries, Bruges Brugge, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good place for a special occasion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My partner and I stayed three nights at The Pannenhuis. It's not cheap but we were there for a birthday celebration and it's a very comfortable and convenient place to stay. The wood panelling and antiques create a warm feeling and our room was enormous and well furnished. We ate one night in the restaurant which we thought we rather expensive and my partner's steak was a little tough, though my fish was beautifully cooked. The staff were very friendly and helpful - minor glitches with the hairdryer and TV handset were sorted out straight away and they were happy to arrange taxis and restaurant bookings for us. The Pannenhuis is an easy fifteen-minute stroll from the main historic area and the fact that it has its own parking is a plus in a largely pedestrianized city.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the road and overlooking the pond are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    12
    7
    2
See reviews for
12
31
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This review is restricted to the restaurant which my two sons and I visited for dinner following a recommendation. What a lovely night. We had a drink and read of the menu in the reception area sat next to an open fire. The dining room itself is elegant with no background music and plenty of space between tables. Two of us had lobster cappuccino , ras el hanout and vegetables as a first course with the third having scallops with chorizo and truffle sauce. I followed this with a fillet of red mullet served with mushroom and parmesan risotto, the two boys eating rack of hare with red cabbage and cranberries. This was skilled cooking of a high quality. We finished with cheese and gave the good wine list a thorough examination.

Service was skilled, professional but friendly throughout. Thoroughly recommended .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

lovely hotel easy to find(sat nav put us almost in the car park). Great location,easy walk into town.Kelly on reception very welcoming.We came back from a day out visiting ice sculptures and walking around Bruges in sub zero temperatures ,sat in reception by open fire in lovely leather chairs with coffee for the girls and great belgium beer for the guys,highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at the Pannenhuis for the third time this summer (July) and were dismayed by the changes. We were the only guests and were put into one of the garden rooms which are not of the same quality as those within the house.We had to ask for bath towelsto be provided and got the impression that hotel staff had other things on their mind and that we were a bit of an inconvenience. The breakfast, once a highlight of stays here, was very average and the general impression was of a hotel that was a bit run down, in which maintenance was not very important and where the desire to impress guests had faded. A great pity- it was so good, if on the pricey side.

Room Tip: First floor rooms were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otley, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We had a fortnight in Belgium; we decided to have 3 nights in Bruge before moving on to friends near Brussels. The Hotel Pannenhuis was a great choice as it was easy to reach from the main road without having to negotiate Bruge town centre, whilst also being within easy walking distance of the town square etc.
The interior was charming and tranquil, with a beautiful garden space; the room was very airy and pleasant and our room was a great base for 3 days of exploring. Breakfast was great; we would have tried the evening menu but it didn't work out because of our plans and the fact we have 2 kids! The menu looked great though!
Free parking is worth remembering, and we arrived early and left later on than we booked out - they were happy for us to leave the car there.
Well worth a visit and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

It's a nice hotel and the owners are friendly, but it takes twenty minutes to walk towards the
charming canals, museums and shops of Bruges. Next time we will stay in the centre of this beautifull city.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Nice place within walking distance of the historic old town. Owners were friendly once we found some common ground. Planned to eat there, but the restaurant staff was on vacation. Breakfasts were fabulous.

Wifi was disappointing. We picked this partially because it listed free wifi. The owner input the password on my phone (so that i would not know what it was) but not my laptop for fear I would use too much bandwidth, and the wifi would not work in our room which was located in the adjoining building.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hostellerie Pannenhuis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Pannenhuis

Address: Zandstraat 2 - Sint-Andries, Bruges Brugge, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Pannenhuis 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique quiet situation, very near (walking distance) the old town centre, station, AZ hospital, shopping street and congress center. Large private and free car-park (very important for Bruges!). Special rates for meetings, seminars and repeat guests. Member of the Logis Of Belgium (3 Fireplaces). Member of the Quality Control Belgium. Member of "Chateaux Hotels". Family hotel service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hostellerie Pannenhuis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hostellerie Pannenhuis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.