We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Flanders Fields.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flanders Fields Battlefield Day Tours

Flanders Fields Battlefield Day Tours
Bruges 8000, Belgium
0800 99 133
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 41 Activities in Bruges
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day trips from Bruges to the first world war battlefields.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
“In Flanders Fields.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This tour is not to be missed in any visit to Belgium. There are only 8 people on each tour in a large van so there is lots of opportunity for questions. It also allowed Nathan, the guide and owner, to personalize the tour to accommodate the interest of our group in Canadian battlefields, cemeteries and memorials from the WW1 stalemate between the German army and the Allied armies. Nathan has an incredible scope and detail of knowledge in these WW1 battles and took us to a large number of sites. The horrors of the world's first modern war with mass slaughter of combatants is made very evident.
Lunch at a local restaurant was included, with a local beer!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    19
    1
    2
    14
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nathan is an excellent tour guide!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Our tour began with Nathan picking us up promptly at 8.50am from our hotel. He was very friendly and welcoming. We joined a party of 2 Americans and 6 English including ourselves. From start to finish Nathan gave a detailed running commentary of events leading up to the Great War. His knowledge was immense and informative. It was interesting to hear the affect this terrible War had on the local Belgian population, Nathan being one himself. We made a visit to German, Canadian,
British and Commonwealth cemeteries which which are immaculately and lovingly cared for. This brought home the scale and the carnage of this conflict. It will leave a lasting affect. We visited trenches and hill 62, and experienced what it must have been live living and fighting in the trenches. We stopped for a very pleasant lunch in Ypres and visited the excellent museum there.
All in all an experience not to be missed. Thank you Nathan.
John and Mary, Fulham, London

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent Battlefields Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This is a very well organised tour of the WW1 Battlefields - we found the day extremely interesting and Nathan's expert knowledge and advice added to the occasion. It was of particular interest to me to visit the Tyne Cot memorial to see the memorial with my Uncle's name on it and also visit the site of the Battle for the Menin Road ridge where he was killed in action. I had sent Nathan details prior to our visit and he had researched to battle from the date of death. My friend and I both felt the whole day was memorable, the visits to the various sites, museuems, bunkers, etc, plus Nathan's expert knowledge all added to the occasion. We would certainly recommend this tour, which included a pleasant lunch - the whole experience was great value for money.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
88 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Amazing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I found this tour through google searches, booked it and was not disappointed! Nathan picked me up at the agreed time (actually a few minutes early), The day I went the van was full (there were 8 of us) I was in the back with 2 fellow Canadians and there was lots of room.

Nathan was very knowledgeable about the area and WW1. He began his tour with history and events leading up the battles. Throughout the day, he took the time to show us where we had been on the maps at our stops. (That was helpful, as well as while driving keeping us informed as to whether we were on what would of been the German side or the British side) Very interesting day! I learned alot. We stopped some interesting museums (Loved the dugout experience) We also got to visit some German trenches.

Nathan also had pictures of the areas we visited that showed before, during and after the war. Those were great to see. As well, on one of our stops, he showed us various artifacts from WW1 that have been found in farmer's fields including shell casings, grenades and old guns. Overall, an amazing day. I recommend booking a tour!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“The highlight of our trip to Brugge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nathan picked us up promptly at the agreed upon time outside of our hotel. His van was very spacious and comfortable. Our tour group for the day was a full compliment of 8 and contained folks from the United Kingdom and Canada. As we drove from Brugge to the Flanders, Nathan ran through the events leading up to World War I and set the stage for the sights we were about to see. He expertly tailored the information he was delivering to us to focus on the actions of our particular countries of origin and family history. He was quite knowledgeable about tertiary events as well, such as the munitions explosion in Halifax harbour that leveled much of the city.

Though the landscape has recovered and many signs of the devastation no longer exist, Nathan was able to describe what it used to look like and take us back as much as possible. We saw small lakes which formed after allied troops tunneled under axis trenches and set off explosives, unexploded ordinance and artifacts which are still churned up by the soil ever spring, and the sites of battlefields such as Hill 60 which are still preserved. Lunch was had in Ypres in a small pub/restaurant. (Vegetarian food was available!)

I would wholeheartedly recommend this tour to everyone. I cannot express enough how fantastic Nathan was, and how grateful we were to have had the opportunity to be shown a piece of history by someone so well versed in the subject matter.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flanders Fields Battlefield Day Tours also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Flanders Fields Battlefield Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flanders Fields Battlefield Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.