We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy respite from the snowstorm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sale e Pepe

Sale e Pepe
Kleine Sint-Amandsstraat 1, Bruges, Belgium
+32 50 61 51 55
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Italian, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Cozy respite from the snowstorm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We landed up in Bruges in the middle of a ferocious snow storm and were quite disappointed that we couldn't enjoy the city as planned. However, as soon as we walked into this heaven of a restaurant, all disappointment evaporated as though the sun had just broken through the clouds!

We had no reservations, but the owner was extremely friendly and let us have a table near the entrance. No problem at all because a thick velvet curtain around the door meant that any cold gusts of air, from patrons walking in and out of the restaurant, was kept at bay.

We ordered a carafe of red recommended by the house - very fruity and nice! For starters we had the appetizer taster board - great flavours and variety! Food was very simple, but flavourful - just as I wanted it. This is not a cheap Italian place but a genuine gastronomic treat!

The best thing about the place, though, was not the food, but the ambiance. We felt like we were in someone's cozy living room, with the host family determined to make sure you left fully satisfied! Perfect date night place - and if you ever find yourself caught in the rain or snow in Bruges, then walk in here to feel your frustration melt away.

Very attentive service, excellent FRESH food, warm breads, and a cozy fireplace - what more do you need for a cozy night out in Bruges in March!

Note: this place does get a lot of regulars who book tables. So reservations are probably better to have than not.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    63
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Lovely atmosphere, very friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We had a lovely meal here. We were wandering around looking for somewhere to eat and came across Sale & Pepe. We called in and although the restaurant was full the waiter (owner?) said call back in 5 mins. We did. There is a lovely atmosphere in the restaurant and the waiter couldn’t have been more helpful, but in a really subtle way. It wasn’t too expensive either. We had mains and two beers and I think it came to €50. Very enjoyable evening. Would be ideal for a romantic meal.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“wonderful service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a really nice meal here with our two teenage daughters. We booked before we went as had read reviews, but could probably have got in at 7.30ish on a Thursday night. The food was great good bottle of wine and excellent friendly service, the atmosphere was really nice as well. Cost approx €100-110 but didn't have starters or sweets.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Friendly and good Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Enjoyed a dinner here with a good selection of pasta and meat dishes. The staff was especially friendly and provided attentive service. The waiter (owner?) brought our wine up from the cellar, but he felt that the wine was too cold to serve, so he suggested an excellent alternative -- for the skeptics among you, it was meaningfully less expensive than my original choice! Very good meal, excellent service, vegetarian friendly. I would suggest reservations.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Friendly service tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Food here was tasty well prepared and the service friendly and attentive. Prices are a bit high by English stand as but seem standard for Bruges. We enjoyed our meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sale e Pepe also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Sale e Pepe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sale e Pepe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.