We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, wish bar staff would be friendlier” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bierbrasserie Cambrinus

Bierbrasserie Cambrinus
Philipstockstraat 19, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 23 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, wish bar staff would be friendlier”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

A friend recommended this place and it had a really nice atmosphere to it. First time thought the bar staff were a little less than friendly and put it down to an off day. Went back the next night to eat and again found them a little off. Waiting staff seemed friendlier especially the ladies in the white and pink top. Book a table to avoid disappointment. I can recommend the fish stew although it was more like fish pie and creme brulee

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    666
    148
    55
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dummerston, Vermont
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Bierbrasserie Cambrinus”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Up tempo tasteful restaurant with fine beer, excellent food, reasonable prices and in the city centre. Very enjoyable.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A must in Bruges...great food and tons of great beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

If you go to Bruges go here. Simple as that. Classy but casual...you might have to wait as it's very very popular...maybe they take reservations. But it was just me and I snagged a seat at the bar after a short time, and that turned out great. The bartender helped me with my beer selections (Royal Palm- very nice, Ramee Amber- even better, Gulden Daark- some caramel/chocolate notes and at 10.5% alcohol it's practically a barley wine...Wow!) and the food was tremendous (French Onion soup and beef stew....which you see everywhere but this was the best). Make sure Cambrinus is on your to-do list in Bruges, at least once while you're there.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fantastic - make a reservation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were in Bruges for a family party - we had travelled from CA and my Father from the UK - we decided to try The Cambrinus on our first evening, thinking it would be basic food and good beer. It actually turned out to be Fantastic basic food and Amazing beer. The ambience of the place is very much "buzzy" -- very busy with folks of all ages -- really buzzing and lively, however it is professionally run and not at all a boozehouse -- they have really done a great job of combining a pub like slightly party-ish atmosphere with a professional edge. We subsequently returned later in our trip (for the last night actually) and had the same great experience. The beer list is nothing short of impressive, we visit Belgium often but it's hard to find a list like this - they had Westvleteren 12 fully available as well as every other great Belgian brew that you can think of. Literally a beer available for all occasions. I also saw many folks start with a beer then transition to wine with their dinner, so I expect the winelist is decent also. However being in this magical city with the best beer in the world, we really didn't go there on the wine. The food is basic yet very fresh and just extremely well executed. You may wait a little while, they are busy, but the staff do an incredible job keeping up with all their patrons and these folks really WORK. We had the mussels (have to right?) - incredible, the steak tartare - excellent. The desserts were great too. For atmosphere, the right beers, the right food, this place is really hard to beat in Bruges.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent restuarant - definitely make a reservation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Amazing food and a fantastic beer list - this was one of the best meals we had through our entire holiday - classic Belgian food and the Chef's choice menu was an excellent deal (and included a beer creme brulee...). We were really lucky and managed to get one of the last tables on a Tuesday evening so I'd recommend booking in advance if you are keen to go here.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bierbrasserie Cambrinus also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bierbrasserie Cambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bierbrasserie Cambrinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.