We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer and great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bierbrasserie Cambrinus

Bierbrasserie Cambrinus
Philipstockstraat 19, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 23 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Great beer and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

In four days in Belgium we had a very hard time finding a place with a great beer selection and great food as well. We finally hit gold at Cambrinus. The place was fully booked on a Wednesday night and we were told we would have to wait an hour for a table. But we found two adjacent seats at the bar and they were more than happy to feed us there. We both enjoyed beers on tap that we would never see in the US; salad and fish stew were excellent as well (one serving of the fish stew was enough for two). A big advantage of sitting at the bar was that we were able to get great advice on the beer selection. Definitely would go back here again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    663
    147
    55
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Didcot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best pub in the world?...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Originally found this place 3 years ago and finally got there last week and it wasn't a disappointment. I took my in-laws there and had talked the place up a lot and it didn't let me down.
Food was top notch, lamb chops where the meat fell off the bone, delicious fresh asparagus.

And the beer. Oh the beer. I've you're going to Belgium to sample beer you may as well spend a few days in here and try some from the 400 they have in house.

Staff were friendly and helpful, enjoyed a bit of banter and we never felt unwelcome during the 5 hours we were there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stumbled in here on a weekend visit to Brugge. They fit us in ahead of a bunch of booked tables. Service was wonder, we had more than 4 servers ask if we needed anything, or needed a refill, or had already ordered. The sliced chicken in mushroom sauce was luscious and the exotic chicken salad was surprising and very good!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“So much beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

This place can get very busy even in the middle of winter, so it might be worth booking. Once you're in though there is an obscene number of beers to choose from and some hearty food to sample. A definite must in you're in Bruges and looking for some good Belgian beer.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawnee, Kansas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great place for beer!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We stopped by Bierbrasserie Cambrinus twice during our 3 days in Bruges. The first time we had a late afternoon snack of beer and their sausage/cheese platter. The next day we came for dinner. For dinner, the goat cheese salad is one of the best things I have ever eaten! That was paired with the fish stew which was excellent as well. To say they have an extensive beer menu would be an understatement. I enjoyed their house blonde and brown both times and wasn't disappointed. This is a must stop for beer lovers in Bruges!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bierbrasserie Cambrinus also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bierbrasserie Cambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bierbrasserie Cambrinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.