We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bierbrasserie Cambrinus

Bierbrasserie Cambrinus
Philipstockstraat 19, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 23 28
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #60 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Pre-booked a table for our visit and its a good job we did as by the time we arrived (19.30) the place was really busy. We had the Flemish Stew with chips and the Rabbit and Prunes with croquettes and both dishes were ample in proportion and really delicious. Staggering selection of beers too!
Great night!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    882
    663
    147
    55
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Backnang, Germany
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good up to a point”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Let's get the good stuff down first. The choice of beers is SUPERB (about 400) - all served with the right glass and also pretty quickly. The food is also great (average price by Bruges standards, pricey for other places) and plentiful. Also the location is ideal, being just off Markt.

However, the place gets crowded very, very quickly (it's popular). If you want to come here, and there are plenty of reasons why you would, and eat, then reserve. If you want a drink, then it's best to come in the early evening. This crowdedness makes for tetchy staff. When there a week ago, I ordered a beer on the list and the waitress to my companions that I had strange accent because there was no beer of that name. On pointing it out in the list, she made no attempt to apologise that it was actually HER mistake and just rolled her eyes. Another waiter told one of my friends that he was holding the glass wrongly (which is up to him, surely?). Guys, you could be brilliant if you accepted that WE were the ones paying YOU.

So, choice-wise excellent (décor is pleasant too, although more American than Old Flemish!), but the crowds and resulting moodiness of the staff are a definite downer. There are friendlier places in town... But if you want an obscure beer or 4, then this is the one.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great bar with million beers and great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stopped here for lunch. Popular place so we had to wait for a bit, but totally worth it. Great beers and great food. We did a couple of beer tastings to figure out which beers we liked. Service was great too.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A must to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I read the reviews for Bierbrasserie cambrinus the day we arrived in Bruges as we were looking for somewhere to go for dinner. The reviews are right! you must go here! We arrived just after 7pm and it was already packed, we were given the last table. Great atmosphere and a HUGE selection of beers. The tasting selection of 4 smaller sized beers was well worth trying. The menu had a good selection of dishes, some local, some to suit more cautious tastes, I would highly recommend the flemish beef carbonnade which comes with home made apple sauce and frittes, it was outstanding. Good value for money (nothing is really cheap in Bruges), and really good sized portions. My advice would be to get here early or book a table in advance to avoid missing out!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We visited Cambrinus twice on our trip to Bruges this last summer. The first time I had the Flemish Carbonades (amazing flavor) and my husband had their mussels (which were listed at the table, not on the menu). The food was amazing, the service was attentive and nice. The beer selection was amazing! The second time, I had the 1/2 roast chicken and the husband had the onion soup and rabbit with prunes. Both were also excellent.

We will definitely be back to Bruges and I know we'll at least stop in to Cambrinus for a beer!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bierbrasserie Cambrinus also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Bierbrasserie Cambrinus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bierbrasserie Cambrinus, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.