We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only fitting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Friet Museum

Friet Museum
Vlamingstraat 33, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050 34 01 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 57 Attractions in Bruges
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Belgium is famous for its frites—and the Friet Museum gives visitors a chance to sample fried potatoes and various complementary sauces, as well as typical Belgian dishes such as meat balls and beef stew. Digest a bit of learning and history along with your food at this educational spot, housed in a building that dates back to the 14th century.
Hohenfels, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only fitting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Since fries are a staple of Belgian diet, it's only proper to go to the museum to figure out why. Good way to pass the time and more info about fries than you'd ever care to know. Buy this ticket in combination with the chocolate museum and cost about 11 euro each. Ticket for discounts on fries in basement at end of tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    115
    87
    51
    26
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
895 reviews 895 reviews
600 attraction reviews
Reviews in 196 cities Reviews in 196 cities
633 helpful votes 633 helpful votes
“Interesting for Flanders”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

For people living outside of Flanders and the Netherlands it is hard to appreciate fries as the locals do. The types of potatos used and the oils all the way to the myriad of suaces and of course mayonaise not ketchup being the most popular topping.

If you have time it is a museum that is nice to see but if you are short on time it is passable.

A quick history tour of fries ends with a chance to buy some fries at the end of the museum.

This museum should take no longer than 40 minutes. Facitilites are available at the museum.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“No Free Chips!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

It was a wet day, what more can I say!!
The best exhibition was the plastic chip forks
, I didn't know there were so many!! We could smell chips frying all the way round the museum so were hopeful of a free sample at the end of the tour, however we were disappointed! You had to pay for the chips and got a discount of 0.40Euros on production of your entrance ticket, not good value as it cost 7 Euros to get in.
The staff in the café were rude. They told us we could only sit at one table as a tour group had booked the other tables, so even though we bought chips because there were 12 of us there weren't enough seats. We stood up and after we'd finished our drinks and chips (15 minutes) there was still no sign of the tour group!!
Don't bother visiting, rude staff and a waste of time and money!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“museum to chips and potatoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

A quirky museum to the history of Belgian (not French) Fries. Probably not to everyone's taste but we found it informative (I never realised quite how many potato varieties there were or how far from the modern potato the earliest varieties grown by the South American Indians were). Of course you have to taste the product in the chip shop in the basement.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
city
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Frietmuseum is a great for about learning and tasting Belgium Friets (Fries)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

More information about this carbohydrate than you would possibly wish to know about, but it's my taste buds that win after the museum, head over to order some friets (fries) along with one of delicious burgers and great local beer with very friendly, fairly quick service. Potatoes are fried in grass-fed beef tallow for flavor, cooked twice to insure a crunchy surface with a soft fuffy interior fry. Sprinkle with sea salt while still hot. No need for any sauces.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Friet Museum also viewed

 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Friet Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Friet Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.