We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in Bruges eat Greek!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olive Tree

The Olive Tree
Wollestraat 3, Bruges, Belgium
050.33.00.81
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 520 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“When in Bruges eat Greek!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We were only in Bruges last week for an overnight trip and judging by fellow trip advisor reviewers this restaurant was a must.It was also a stones throw from our great hotel Martins Brugge. We turned up at 6pm and booked a table for later that evening at 7,30. Had a quick look through the menu so that we could start thinking already which of the delicious sounding dishes we would eat, as I am notorious for taking an age to decide what to have. After a nice stroll around the market square and surrounding streets we simply could not wait any longer to go back. So at 7pm we returned and were seated straight away. The owner Paris is a lovely guy and perfect front of house to welcome and look after customers. I had the mixed dips and warm pitta bread to start followed by the calamari and it was delicious beyond words. It had been difficult to pick which dishes to have, as the choice is very inviting. We were given a wonderful Greek walnut cake for dessert and a liquour both on the house, which was very welcome. Paris returned several times to check on us and have the odd light hearted chat, as my friend was once married to a Greek guy there was much to talk about and discuss of food,family and traditions. We enjoyed his company as he obviously did ours! Not wanting us to leave and inviting us to a party at the restaurant the following evening!! Great atmostphere and unhurried service combined with great food. We will return to eat again on our next visit :)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    785
    168
    31
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Charming Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We ate here twice in three days so we really enjoyed it as there are many good restaurants in Bruges. The two guys who run it are very calm and friendly. The restaurant itself is nicely designed and the ambience is both charming and romantic.The menu is traditional and of a very high standard cooked and prepared by the mother of one of guys. Presentation is great the wine list is surprising good as it is an all greek affair. The service is not rushed so don't go there in a hurry. Relax, take your time and enjoy the food and the warm and inviting atmosphere. The moussaka was quite simply amazing and the Metaxa 7 star was a nice touch for my birthday! Thank-you. You need to book as it is very well established and understandably so.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“An unexpected highlight.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The husband and I were looking for a nice place for our anniversary meal during our trip to Bruges, not a difficult task in a place so full of quality restaurants.
Although Greek food has not been one of my favourite cuisines this place looked so nice I really wanted to try it.
From the moment you walk in the door you are hit with delicious seductively warm honey and sesame aromas.
The service was a little slow as they seemed to be working with a very small team, however this was not an issue for us we prefer not to be rushed.
The menu was well thought out and I had no problem finding plenty of things to choose from.
The food was outstanding, well presented and really tasty.
After our meal, we were presented with a very delicious sample of home made cake, made by mum working hard in the kitchen.
This restaurant has the feel of family of a family run business with a relaxed atmosphere and the most genuinely sincere host.
We were sat near the door and it seemed everybody made an effort to thank him as they left, so it's clear we were not the only happy customers.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Very nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was our second visit to the Olive Tree and we found it charming. Nice peaceful atmosphere,attentive waiter who spent time explains the dishes. Not the best moussaka I've ever had but perfectly acceptable. We would eat there again

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASHFORD
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very slow service!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

As this restaurant was fully booked on the Friday we booked our table for the Saturday. Although it opens at 6 we could not book until 6:30. When we got there at 6:25 most of the tables were empty. Whilst looking at the menu there was quite a throughput of dinners entering and asking for a table. They were all told that they were fully booked and could not be accommodated. This we found funny as when we left a couple of hours later there were still quite a few empty tables from when we entered. Looking thru the windows from outside the restaurant only looked half full. When we could eventually order our food it was nearly an hour before the starters arrived. Drinks took nearly 15 minutes to arrive. Considering at this time there were only a couple of other tables with guests we thought that this was bad. When the food actually arrived it was nothing special and as we found everywhere in Bruges was not cheap either. As we were in Bruges for a few days we thought that as we all like Greek food we would book for another evening, but decided that all the waiting would not be worth it. If you do eat here we suggest ordering a table away from the entrance door as there were a few couples near the door who spent a lot of time shutting the door to keep out of the draft. This was because of the turning around of disappointed diners coming in and out all the time.
We would not eat there again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olive Tree also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to The Olive Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olive Tree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.