We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B De Vijf Zuilen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added B&B De Vijf Zuilen to your Saves list
B&B De Vijf Zuilen
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Graaf de Muelenaerelaan 49, Bruges, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
Leighton Buzzard, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Quirky?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly with warm helpful welcome. Decor is quirky but hosts are brilliant. Was still eating breakfast at lunch as we were invited to pack what breakfast we did not eat. 30 minute walk to centre of Bruges but benefit is that has own parking and quiet location.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
45
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Great place to stay, a little difficult to find, however what an absolute find when you do get there. Sumptuous room, spacious clean with a large bathroom. Jeanette's hospitality is outstanding, from the welcoming drinks & nibbles to the amazing breakfast and wave goodbye. My husband and I both commented that the breakfast Jeanette served us was the best we had eaten in our life's! We will be returning there very soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

De Vijf Zuilen is a wonderful B&B located in the most charming house with very friendly hosts. The rooms are well decorated, comfortable and very clean. Ginette's breakfasts were fantastic and very well presented - with meats, cheeses, breads, pastries and fruit. I highly recommend a stay at De Vijf Zuilen and hope to have the opportunity to return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Driving to the B&B was a little difficult, especially in the dark, due to ongoing roadworks in the vicinity. As a result, the GPS led us to some deadends and we had to re-route a few times before we reached the house. Very nice, friendly and humorous owner and the house looks lovely! Made to feel welcome upon arrival with welcome drinks, cookies and advice on tourist spots to visit in Brugge. We got the Romantic Room (70 Euros, cash only) which was on the second level, up a flight of stairs. Room was cosy (also meaning that there is not much space for luggage) and well-furnished.There were also welcome chocolates placed on the pillows. Apparent that owner put much thought into the decor with many quaint little knick knacks and ornaments placed here and there. However, for klutzes like me, there is this constant fear of knocking into something and breaking it. The breakfast room is on the third level, up yet another flight of stairs. You also need to go up a short flight of stairs from the driveway to get into the house, so if you are averse to stairs in any way, this B&B may not be for you. The old town of Brugge is about half an hour away by foot, and there is nothing much in the immediate vicinity of the B&B. Looking for dinner on a dark winter evening was a pain, even though the owner kindly marked out some food places on the map, because we were unfamiliar with the area and it was difficult to see the street names in the dark. We ended up getting into our car again and driving out and around to "hunt" for food.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Our hosts were amazing. Excellent greeting, even though we were quiet late, taking time to sit on the porch to introduce us to Bruges over a cold drink. We traveled with our young son, so they had the cot out ready for us. Breakfast was excellent! We were able to check out and leave out car on site while we wandered around Bruges. Will definitely recommend to others and stay again if we are ever in the area. Everything was excellent . Great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed here in August 2012 and I honestly cannot fault it! Ginette was a fantastic host, sending her husband to collect us from the station when we arrived and offering us complimentary drinks and snacks on arrival (we opted for wine and mini chip sticks while the couple next to us had tea and chocolates!). Ginette then proceeded to show us our room and talk us through a map of Bruges, pointing out the sights, drawing us a route to walk into the town (about 15 mins) and telling us where to catch the bus home should we want to in the evening (it runs about 3x per hour between 8-12pm).
The room was lovely; spotless, comfortable, excellent shower, belgian chocolates on our pillows and a TV which my boyfriend loved as we stayed during the Olympics!
Breakfast was to die for - we were well and truly stuffed and set for a day of sightseeing and wandering around the canals. (Ginette even brought out sandwich bags for us to make up some lunch to take with us!).
When it came to leaving Ginette's husband drove us back to the station and showed us where we could store our luggage (£3.50 for a big locker which fit both our cases).
Overall the stay was fabulous and both my boyfriend and I thought it was the best of the places we stayed while travelling around Europe this summer.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms - all are ensuite. We stayed in the 'Romantic room' which was lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night in this lovely old period home which comes complete with off street gated parking, which is probably quite rare in Brugge.
The hostess was very friendly and welcoming, with good English, greeting us with a glass of wine on arrival and then set about informing us of how to get the best out of our short second stay in Brugge.
The bed was comfortable and the room nicely decorated and furnished.
Breakfast was continental with added personal touches.
My only negative comment would be regarding a large urn located on the widest part of the winding staircase making passing carrying a suitcase quite difficult on the remaining narrow part of the stair treads.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B De Vijf Zuilen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B De Vijf Zuilen

Address: Graaf de Muelenaerelaan 49, Bruges, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — B&B De Vijf Zuilen 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your B&B De Vijf Zuilen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B De Vijf Zuilen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.