We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe better than one star?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Carillon

Carillon
Sint-Amandsstraat, Bruges, Belgium
+32(0)50.33.50.68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #518 of 570 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $32 - $47
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Maybe better than one star?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Visited for evening meal with out reading reviews. Ok not the greatest restaurant ever but acceptable pastas at a reasonable price in this expensive city. However won't be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    29
    18
    39
    134
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“shocking staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Had misfortune to visit this restaurant on Saturday 7th December 2013, I witnessed the rudest staff I have ever seen and the whole incident described by Stevelondon 13 was exactly as he described it. The manageress should be fired. We also waited over an hour for our food and only got it after a number of requests to the waiter, we had only ordered one pizza and one peace of cherry pie, hardly difficult, apparently there had been a mix up in the kitchen with our order. Another group of Brits on hearing what was going on put their menus down and told the waiter they would go rather than wait that long and they where told, ' Go, get out then' by the same manageress whilst the young waiters just smirked as if this was her normal way of dealing with customers who were not happy with the service. There's so many restaurants to choose from, don't waist your time visiting this one.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Worst place ever, terrible service and bad food. Avoid at all costs.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I've eaten in many places round the world and this is the absolute worst I've had the misfortune to stumble into.
Staff were rude to the point of being insulting, sniggering at us when we asked where our food was after an hour and quarter wait from our soup starter. The funny thing was we ordered the "quick lunch".
We said we didn't want the main as we were fed up with waiting and would pay for the soup and the beer we had but don't want anymore as we were unhappy. Instead the waiter brought our stew 2 mins after asking, it looked like it had been thrown up onto and all over the plate, the meat was stone cold with warm sauce poured over it. After having it dumped infront of us we called the waiter over to complain and say we were not happy about the food. We were then shouted at by the manageress, who told us that we had to eat the stew as it was ready. When we refused and asked to pay for what we had consumed we were told we had to pay for the whole meal including a desert we hadn't even seen otherwise the police would be called. When we asked to see the owner who was no more than 20 feet away in the next room, he refused saying he had a heart condition and couldn't deal with any stress.
I don't know how this place is still open or how the staff have jobs!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'm still in shock. Avoid at ALL costs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Where do we start?! Food was terrible, it took over 90 mins to arrive and when it did it was cold and smelt like cat food. When we tried to send it back, the manager yelled at us and told us she'd call the police if we didn't pay full price. We asked to speak to the owner and he refused to even see us.

I'm still not quite sure if we were part of some weird sadistic experiment - or if they just assume that's the way to be hospitable to people and run a restaurant.

I can't emphasise enough that you should avoid this place at all costs!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thievery”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This restaurant must be the biggest tourist trap there is. Price / quality ratio is outrageous.

3 small, factory made croquettes with some unseasoned lettuce with raw onion. Yumm! For just EUR 14.80. No kidding. See photo.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carillon also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Carillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.