We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful weekend at Asinello” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asinello B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Asinello B&B to your Saves list
Asinello B&B
Ezelstraat 59a, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 213 Bruges B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful weekend at Asinello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Gorgeous b and b- we absolutely loved this place! Felt right at home straight away, Monique was on hand to offer a very welcome drink and some good tips on what to see. She sorted us out with a walking tour so that we could see the best bits of Bruges and avoid all the touristy parts. She also gave us some good tips on restaurants and advised that we would need to book a table - which we found to be good advice! We stayed in Baptiste - a lovely room with everything you could wish for and more. Not only was there a huge multiple jet shower, but a spa bath too - amazing!! We took some champagne with us and left it to chill for the day in the bathroom sink - when we returned from a day of sightseeing we found 2 champagne glasses, chocolates and a note from Monique to say that she had put the champagne in her fridge for us! Breakfast was great - croissants, fresh bread, eggs, fresh fruit and yoghurt and all presented beautifully. A really special place to stay, would highly recommend it, especially to couples. Very romantic!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
141
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We stayed at Asinello for two nights and absolutely loved it. We were welcomed by Peter and Monique with a good cop of coffee and a nice chat, which was very nice after a three hour drive. Asinello is a beautiful, modern B&B with attention to detail. The cute donkeys and chocolates on our bed were a lovely touch. The rooms are very clean and modern. We stayed in the room Baptiste, this room has a spa bath, which is wonderful for relaxing after being out and about in Bruges all day. The B&B is close to the city centre, but away from the major hustle and bustle, which makes for a good nights sleep. Breakfast is good, with fresh fruit salad and home made jam. For ultimate relaxing, there is a steam room, unfortunately we did not find the time to make use of it. Monique also gave us a map with tips for things to see in Bruges and a great dinner tip for our anniversary diner. Stay here, you will not regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Super B&B! Monique and Peter's hospitality is warm and welcoming. From the moment we arrived, we felt at home; relaxed and free to enjoy the beautiful city of Bruges. 'Asinello' is wonderfully located near to the centre (5 minutes walk), which is perfect. The rooms are very clean with a modern decor; and the breakfast (which is continental) has a wide choice from fresh fruits to pastries, yogurt to cereal and really tasty boiled eggs. Monique and Peter will do their utmost to make your stay a happy and enjoyable experience. Remember to ask Monique for one of her maps; her knowledge of the area is vast and her tips for places to visit, drink and eat will ensure you a great time in this wonderful city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Everything about this place is very sleek, from the interior design to the tiny detail such as the cutlery. The Madame- an ex doctor Monique is obviously very passionate about her guest house and is an incredibly warm and very helpful hostess. We had the small room (we went on a busy weekend and the other two were taken) and cannot fault it.

Has a steam room- very good quality one. A healthy breakfast, everything fresh.

Thanks Monique!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Bruges (Brugge in Flemish) is utterly beautiful and our visit there was made all the more pleasant by staying at the Asinello ("little donkey" in Italian) a 3 bedroom B & B close to the centre of everything. The pun is that the B & B is on Ezelstraat, Flemish for "Donkey Street". The rooms are very modern with all the conveniences you could want, the decor is very tasteful and a little whimsical - little donkey motifs throughout - and the couple (and their teenage daughter) who have created and manage the place are delightful people. If you are going to Bruges (Brugge) your visit will be made even more pleasant by staying at the Asinello..

Room Tip: We stayed in the topmost room which is large and well appointed. The whole place is set back from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed in the smallest of the three rooms at Asinello for three nights. We highly recommend it. Comfortable, adjustable bed; great bathroom; great breakfast; free wifi; and a friendly and very helpful host. The area is quiet and away from the hubbub of the city center, but it's only a 10 minute walk to the bell tower. It was not warm enough when we were there to use the patio, but it looked lovely. If we ever get back to Bruges, we'll definitely stay at Asinello (although we might spring for the larger room!).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I were traveling across Europe this summer and had the opportunity to stay in many wonderful hotels and B&B's, but Asinello was by far our favorite place. Monique was extremely welcoming and accommodating. She made us feel right at home. The entire B&B was gorgeous, clean, and comfortable. They thought of everything that a guest would need/want when away from home, like chocolates on our bed and a fridge full of beverages. Breakfast was great, the Turkish bath was a fabulous bonus, and the location was perfect - just a short walk to everything but on a quiet street. The bed was very comfortable, the bathroom was amazing, and the entire place was well designed and inviting. Monique mapped out a beautiful and fun-filled biking/walking tour for us, highlighting the best restaurants and attractions. We enjoyed Vino Vino for food and beer. It didn't seem touristy and had a great local vibe and food. We wouldn't have gone there without the suggestion from Monique. Bruge was an amazing place to visit and I think Asinello played a big part in making it our favorite stop; it truly was an outstanding place to stay. When we return to Bruge we will stay here again, without a doubt!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asinello B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asinello B&B

Address: Ezelstraat 59a, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 213 B&Bs / Inns in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Bed & Breakfast with modern look in the centre of Bruges Bed and Breakfast Asinello is situated in the old town of Bruges. You can relax in 3 comfortable rooms, each with a luxury bathroom. Downstairs you find the dining room (breakfast), the charming living room and the hammam. Comfort, wellness and design are the key words. B&B Asinello is the place to be to discover charming Bruges. It’s also near to the coast and other Flemish cultural cities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Asinello B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asinello B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.