We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“eating out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tom's Diner

Tom's Diner
West-Gistelhof 23, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 33 82
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“eating out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Nothing much to add to whats been wrote before very very nice well worth the walk staff very nice , food lovely, little bit pricey but not compared to the centre of the city around 80 euros 2courses x2+3drinks no wine would definitely go again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    99
    16
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious and romantic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We went to Tom's Diner based on trip advisor reviews and loved it! We walked in on a Friday night and were lucky to get a seat at the bar where we could also eat. We had delicious cocktails, starters and mains and got to watch the chefs make them. The staff were really helpful and talked us over the cocktail menu and about Bruges. We were served really quickly and had a really great time. The atmosphere was really lovely and made for a very romantic first night in Bruges.

I'd recommend the steak which my boyfriend had, it was cooked perfectly and so delicious.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Casual but busy, rustic yet upscale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

I would strongly suggest that you make reservations as Tom's Diner is clearly a popular place and, even in the middle of the week, the place was packed. Our waiter was extremely busy but we never had to wait overly long for service. You know you have a good waiter when he seeks eye contact with his customer (me) across a crowded room and then delivers a 2nd glass of wine based upon my gesture. My wife had the vegetarian option and I had Tom's special pasta dish. Both were generous portions and quite delicious. I enjoyed the casual atmosphere of Tom's and, despite how busy the place was, it was still quiet enough that my wife and I could carry a conversation without raising our voices. A good music selection, engaging if you wanted it to be but not so loud as to dominate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We ate here with our two year old in tow after a long day of walking around in the heat. It's a little bit off the beaten path but worth the walk. The food was pretty good, we had the quesadilla and the scampi. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We booked ahead but it wasn't very busy on the Thursday night that we were there so we probably could have gotten away without booking. It's a bit pricy for the amount of food that you get but we weren't starving by any means when we left.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Hidden away from the main tourist restaurants around the main square in West Gistelhof (5/6 mins walk) is Tom's Diner. Here you will find Bruggian's enjoying a lovely meal in a restaurant which serves local specialities, a small but varied selection (I highly recommend Tom's Pasta and their homemade Meatloaf) The staff are young and efficient (if I remember correctly a brother/sister team running it) You may need to book which you can do on-line or by phone. I've eaten there on many occasions and never been disappointed!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom's Diner also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Tom's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom's Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.