We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist trap” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Poules Moules

Poules Moules
Simon Stevinplein 9, Bruges 8000, Belgium
050346119
Improve this listing
Ranked #144 of 520 restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $31 - $39
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tourist trap”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Ripoff
No other way to describe the experience.
Beware!!
Fish/lobster soup €11.75 it was a mere bowl of water -no lobster no fish!
Moules-plain! Cooked without making an effort.
When complained...the waiter was too busy with the blond girl seating on another table and was rood beyond belief.
The manager could not care less.
Overall they can do the talk but not the walk.

Overrated food unhappy customers bad food expensive tourist trap!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    117
    151
    51
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant set in an old mansion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We liked the restaurant, not big, but set in a historical old house, the waitresses were really nice, helpful and friendly and the mussels were beautifully cooked, not cheap, but we had a nice lunch here before we left Bruges :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Ideal for hungry travellers.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

As anyone who has read any of my other reviews of restaurants will know, I try to remain objective always SO what may be 'average' for me could be 'very good' for someone else - it all depends on expectations. In this case, the differentiator was around the service levels (including waiters just wandering off to deal with something else mid order which is a little disconcerting!) and the food choice for children. Actually, on the menu, there is no choice! We had to do a little persuasion around letting the children have a smaller portion of mussels as this is what they wanted. Once that was sorted, generally good experience, nicer than the spots in the main squares, but not a patch on the restaurant next door which was just lovely......

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Decent enough place, bit overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I went here for dinner one evening as I hadn't yet had the obligatory moules frites in Bruges. The restaurant is on a small busy square, so we expected the prices to be a little high, and they were. We went fairly early at around 6pm, and it was already very busy. We were sat on the first floor between the very narrow staircase and the food lift - this may annoy some people as the buzzing of food arriving and the rushing up and down stairs of the waiters was very frequent. The tables in a quieter area of the restaurant had all been reserved, and the place got much busier towards 8pm, so I would recommend making a reservation to make sure you get a nicer place to sit! I had mussels in white wine, and my husband had chicken. You get a huge portion of mussels, however the chicken looked a little sad and was definitely not good value. However the food was delicious, and the mussels in particular we're excellent - although not excellent value, they were around the same price as I have seen advertised everywhere else in Bruges. The staff were friendly and helpful, although after our main course we were ignored for a while and it was quite an effort to get someone's attention. We both had pie for dessert (I had apple, my husband had cherry) - both were nice but not amazing, although the portions were a good size. Overall, we did enjoy our meal and there wasn't anything wrong with it, but compared to some of our other experiences in Bruges, it just wasn't as good. A nice enough place to go for mussels, nothing special, but in a convenient location

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut, lebanon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The service was excellent, the food was superb.
We were a group of 15 persons, we were quickly accommodated and seated on the upper floor, the mussels are very tasty and the portion is super generous, we could not eat desert (which looked delicious by the way) because of the big portions. Waiter Fleuris is very friendly.
Price is very reasonable (and not touristy). The choice of food is very big. i highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poules Moules also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Poules Moules? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poules Moules, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.