We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to say” 4 of 5 stars
Review of T' Putje

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added T' Putje to your Saves list
T' Putje
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   T' Zand 31, Bruges 8000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
England
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great place to say”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

My wife and I have at least one weekend a year in Bruges, and have decided this hotel offers us the best all round value. Its well placed, and the rooms are clean and well proportioned. The breakfast is well prepared, and served until a reasonable time. The receptionist booked us in very efficiently, and gave us a voucher for a free glass of "fizz" in the hotel bar. If you get chance, try and find my favourite bar in Bruge (brugsbeertje) - its just off the main street, and is one of the best bars in the world.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    104
    59
    24
    30
See reviews for
23
138
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for the second time. At first, we were given room 301, which is located at the front; as we like to sleep with the window slightly open, street noise proved to be a bit of a problem late in the evening. Changed to room 201, which is in the back and wonderfully quiet, so definitely recommended! Decor of all rooms: no frills, several shades of cream and brown, no paintings. Room facilities: TV (no English-language channels), fairly large closet, small desk with internet access (ask front desk, we didn't use it), small fridge; however, no coffee/tea making facilities. Both room and bathroom are very clean. Downside 1: bathroom lights work with a sensor, which may switch off when having a shower, and can be quite scary (just so you know), but in room 201 all you have to do is reach for a towel and it will come back on (more difficult in room 301 and impossible in room 101 where we stayed on a previous visit) / 2: Two single duvets on a double bed (not very cosy and no shared warmth) / 3: No extra blanket in the closet, so I had to go look for one outside the room as there was a cold spell in Bruges. Within easy walking distance of train station, theater, museums (closed on Mondays!), churches, restaurants and shops. Recommended for specialty shopping: De Reygere Travel Bookshop, Rombaux classical CD-store, Raaklijn bookstore, Kookshop. Also recommended: Jerusalem kerk (church) - quite unusual building, a bit out of the way yet still within walking distance. Recommended temporary exhibition: "De Treurenden / The Mourners / Les Pleurants", currently running at the Memling St Jan's Hospital Museum - gorgeous! Also: buy a 3-day museum ticket at the tourist office (just across the hotel next to the theatre), which will pay for itself after visiting just 2 museums.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back, for example 201 - very quiet, nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I've been to Bruges several times before but this was the first time at this hotel. We were placed in a nice room in the annexe which had a little balcony that you could sit out on. The room was perfectly adequate for our needs and was kept clean with fresh towels each day. Breakfast was in a room overlooking the concert hall and was typically contental but very adequate. The tables outside the hotel were a great place to have a drink or snack, soak up the sunshine and watch the world go by. The staff were very obliging without being intrusive. We were able to leave our luggage at reception on the last day and spend a few more hours around Bruges. The hotel was also very easy walking distance to the railway station via the park adjacent to the concert hall. if you're here for any length of time grab a train to Ghent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Arrived at 10am couldn't get into our room, but we could leave our suitcases. The hotel changed our
room to a twin one, but it was on the 4th floor, no lift to that floor and no air con, which we really needed as Belgium were having a heat wave. Lovely location near everything could walk everywhere. Fridge in the room, breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: try not to get the 4th floor no lift only to 3rd floor and no air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

It is located heart of old town. There are many restaurants and hotels around this area. Breakfast buffet is great.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A simple but perfect hotel for a short stay in Bruges. Restaurant food within hotel is very reasonable and the staff are very helpful and accommodating. Stayed in the 'annex' which meant we had to cross a small cobbled back alley to get to a different building but not much of problem really. Note that the restaurants nearby, which we ventured to on our second night, actually shut at 10pm and do not tell you this when you arrive for a long, relaxing meal at 8.30pm ... you go to order your dessert and they decide to inform you they are closed at 10pm! Ended up going back to Hotel T'Putje and having dessert there - highly recommend waffles with strawberries - decided to put a 'Bruges' element to this pudding by requesting melted chocolate to go with it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

I stay 1 night here, staff was very nice, my room was big enough and bed was very confortable, believe me, you do not espend your day in the hotel room because Bruges is so beautiful. one of my favorite cities in the world. hotel is good do not beleive what the people is complaining about this hotel, they have a nice restaurant too Le panier d'or, amaizing food also.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to T' Putje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T' Putje

Address: T' Zand 31, Bruges 8000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > West Flanders Province > Bruges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 101 Hotels in Bruges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — T' Putje 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your T' Putje reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t Putje Bruges

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage T' Putje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.