We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sullen service, average food, too expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Pouce

Tom Pouce
Burg 17, Bruges, Belgium
050-330336
Improve this listing
Ranked #465 of 520 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: Belgian, Seafood, Mediterranean, European
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Scotland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Sullen service, average food, too expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I can't say I'm surprised by the poor reviews for this place on here.

The service we received was sullen at best, rude at worst. The waiters didn't smile, looked hurried and hassled and at one point said we could not get a coffee! (Although it later transpired they thought we'd asked to swap a coffee for the dessert on set menu we ordered from, when in fact we wanted to add a coffee to our order.)

The food quality was not as high as other places we ate in Bruges. The chips were good, but the mussels in garlic tasted quite bland. A bottle of water cost 8 Euros as well, which is frankly ridiculous.

Avoid the restaurants near the centre and eat at more tucked away restaurants. In our experience, the best places to eat were T'Gezelleke (local, low key, delicious), Tom's Diner (more trendy, excellent fish) and Park Restaurant (expensive but very tasty food).

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    79
    79
    103
    266
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Poor quality and over priced”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

My better judgement always tell me to avoid the very central places as they do not have to try hard to win business. Unfortunately my better judgement was right and this place was a huge disappointment.

The mussels were poor, small amounts of meat and many still closed. A cheese baguette was just that with nothing else added. All in all we paid €100 for 2 mussels, 1 schnitzel, 1 cheeses baguette, a portion of chips, a coffee, a coke and 2 glasses of wine - total daylight robbery.

Walk 50 yards away from the centre and you find plenty of places far, far better and far, far cheaper than this - avoid!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Excellent location average restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We would have preferred to sit inside but the waiter said all seats were reserved so we sat outside and endured the smokers. The waiter didn't smile once and brought the food without even looking at us. We had mussels "naturel" and they were excellent, steamed with some chopped celery. There were probably twice as many as we usually eat. They were cooked properly and were all open so no wastage. The frites were like you get in a burger joint but mercifully not salty. The beer was expensive but cold and tasty. We were undoubtedly paying for the location. If only the waiter had been pleasant and friendly!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tom Pouce was near my hotel (Grand Hotel Bruges) and I stopped for dinner on a cold day in February, 2012. The service was excellent, the bartender friendly and willing to listen when I asked for something of which he had never heard. The paté was very good, and the Flemish Stew also good. I would gladly return.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Varied menu, also good set menu, reasonably priced for Bruge Good quality food and good service. Has inside and outside seating area

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Pouce also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Tom Pouce? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Pouce, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.