We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Bruges bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Malesherbes

Malesherbes
Stoofstraat 3-5, Bruges, Belgium
050-336924
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #122 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“perfect Bruges bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

An intimate 7 table bistro on a tiny alley off the main street, with delightful, personal service by the lady chefs/owners. Unpretentious decor and proximity of tables make for friendly vibes centered on the delicious food - duck foie gras with onion jam and warm brioche - and wine (Languedoc house red), and desserts - tarte tatin.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    47
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tampa bay FL
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service and great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Small french feel. Mu wife had the cod special I had wonderful rare beef. The best meal we had in Brugge.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Truly Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My wife and I, accompanied by friends, dined at Malesherbes last Sunday evening. The entire evening was a delight, with friendly knowledgeable service, a good atmosphere, and fabulous food. The cassoulet was a tour de force, full of flavour and generous in portions. There was an extensive wine list, reasonably priced and one of the owners on hand to give advice. The deserts and cheeseboard were superb, and the almond and pear tart was the best I have ever tasted.
The owners of this restaurant obviously take pride in what they deliver to the customer, both in terms of service and quality, and they undoubtedly deserve to do well. This restaurant is a credit to them both.
There is only one complaint: They would not open the following night on their day off, ( well deserved ) so we will have to wait until our next visit to Bruges

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“5 out of 5”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

We found the Restaurant by Chance, reserved, came back at night and had a great dinner. The food is very very good and the small size of the place makes a nice and intimate atmosphere. The service was very nice and friendly and helpful, and helped us with the menu, which we needed because we usually do not eat at places like this, but in student restaurants at Uni. The prices were not low, but given the overall price level in Brugge, which is quite high, prices were totally ok. And here you can be sure that you don't end up in a tourist trap, but get a dinner of lunch that is worth every Euro. As said before, we usually do not eat in restaurants of that quality, but cannot imagine how you can get better food, service, wine and overall dining experience than at Malesherbes. Not easy to find by chance, but if you do, don't Miss out on it. P.S. And all this high class dining in an appropriatly easy atmosphere, without unneccessary formal and stiff atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“A little gem in Bruges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Thank you TripAdvisor, when we read the reviews, we thought that this sounded like just the restaurant for us after a huge disappointment for lunch on the previous day. Down a charming little alleyway it is not easy to find, be like us and get someone to draw the route on a map. The place was packed with locals, and a charming couple sitting next to us guided us to what to eat there, lovely homemade foie gras to start, which we shared, followed by a wonderful coq au vin for my wife and fillet of lamb with green cabbage for me, both delicious. Service was incredibly friendly and we loved the place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Malesherbes also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Malesherbes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Malesherbes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.