We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gruuthuse Hof

Gruuthuse Hof
Mariastraat 36, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 06 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $18 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We provide price quality food in the centre of a beautiful town . We try to find the balance between locals and tourist. Local Belgian food in a local trendy setting.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wish we could go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

We were lucky to get a sest in this lovely little place. The staff were polite and helpful and you could see they were pleased that we enjoyed the food. The pate was great as was the flemish stew (the gravy is to die for)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    189
    34
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great food very well priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

The tourist menu priced at an amazing 16.80 for 3 courses was great. Homemade soup followed by a choice of 3 mains, we had the steak it was fantastic, this was followed by profiteroles, YUMMY! This place is lovely inside and the service was faultless, book though it gets busy!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One of the very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Having been "stung" the night before in a restaurant in the main square, the following day we found this fantastic little restaurant offering a "tourist meal deal" 3 courses for 16 euros. And the 16 Euros could not have been better spent. The quality was second to none, and the chips were perfect in every way. The staff were great, and the service I would describe as near perfect. They were not in your face, and knew exactly when to top up the wine etc. They were totally aware of every one and their needs. Will go back with out a doubt!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Beautiful little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Every restaurant in Bruges is small. This place is no exception but it still manages to maintain a relaxing & friendly atmosphere. The food and service is fantastic. We had our last evening meal in Bruges her and we certainly saved the best until last.
Make sure you book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and good hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Just back at our hotel after having enjoyed a superb meal at Gruuthuse Hof. We spotted the restaurant two nights ago but they were full so we booked a table for tonight. We had grilled tuna, and lemon sole, both perfectly cooked, and a scrumptious apple pie for dessert. Highly recommended. We will definitely eat here again next time we come to Bruges.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruuthuse Hof also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gruuthuse Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruuthuse Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.