We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gruuthuse Hof

Gruuthuse Hof
Mariastraat 36, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 06 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 519 Restaurants in Bruges
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $31
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We provide price quality food in the centre of a beautiful town . We try to find the balance between locals and tourist. Local Belgian food in a local trendy setting.
Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We nearly walked straight past it, happened upon this little gem by accident. It is tiny and intimate, so in peak time I would certainly book. It was even better than I had fantasised about, when dreaming of mussels in Brugge. Again the service was exceptional, the pate was absolutely delicious and as for the muscles they were dreamy. We could have stayed all afternoon. A must stop if in Brugge.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    498
    222
    36
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“One of the best restaurants in Brugge!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I have visited this city 6 or 7 times over the last 15 years as my wife and I and our families enjoy this city immensely...
Each time we visit, we always eat at the Gruuthuse Hof on at least one occasion and this time we eat on two evenings. This is a small, intimate and quiet restaurant which offers quality food and impeccable service in a city where some of the fare is quite standard.
Unfortunately because of its excellent standing many people make reservations which they do not fulfil and therefore if you are late, please accept that your table may have be given to someone who has enquired whether there are any spare tables for the evenings.
The staff are constantly fending off requests for tables despite a notice in the door to explain it is full.
If you visit this city, eat here at least once..... but please not when I am visiting as I may not get a table !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A complete gem....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

What a treat this restaurant is! Some evenings everything just collides perfectly and leads to a great meal - the setting, the intimate nature of the restaurant, the service and fantastic food accompanied by bubbles led to just a brilliant evening with our friends. I'd thoroughly recommend Gruuthuse Hof but make sure you book a table - turning up and hoping for the best is likely to leave you disappointed and missing out......

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“They gave our table away dispite having telephone number”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a very bad experience at this restaurant, I travel widely in Europe. We had booked a table on Monday evening for 4 collegues and left the telephone number as a contact, unfortunately one of the collegues was slightly late in arriving which meant that we arrived around 30 mins late, upon arrival we were told that our table had been given away and they could not help us, when we asked why they had not contacted us they said that it was not their policy and they just asked us to leave the restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruut, Owner at Gruuthuse Hof, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir , Your colleague came into the restaurant and said to the waiter "i'm very sorry but where more then a half hour too late" the waiter said " unfortunately we just gave you're table away"
the answer from your colleague was "i though as much sorry about that "
Now we did not have a telephone number only a company name "Zeelandia" so when you say they didn't call us you are lying . You're colleague was very understanding but also very disappointed that i can understand ! but you have to understand that we are running a business and every day we have to refuse tons of people so if you would have any RESPECT for other people you would understand too... you could have made a simple phone call to us and the table would have been kept. You're loss not mine .
Lucky that there is no TripAdvisor for companies like yours and if there was i would never put anything bad about anyone on the web... just shows what kind of person i am....
Yours sincerely ,
The Owner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Service bad”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

The food was ok but the service wasn't. They treated Asians differently!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gruut, Manager at Gruuthuse Hof, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
I can only come to one conclusion and that is "that you are a RACIST" why is that ?
Because you seem to think we dislike Asians. How is it that i used to have a Asian girlfriend and that i regularly go to Singapore and Hong Kong and my favourite country is Japan.

Very sorry but as you can see you must be wrong.....however when i go to Asia i adept to the customs of that country.... in Europe you don't go snapping you're fingers at a waiter .
Waiters are not dogs not in Europe and not in Asia.

My sincere apologies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruuthuse Hof also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gruuthuse Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruuthuse Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.