We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very nice little restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gruuthuse Hof

Gruuthuse Hof
Mariastraat 36, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 06 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $19 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We provide price quality food in the centre of a beautiful town . We try to find the balance between locals and tourist. Local Belgian food in a local trendy setting.
Troon
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A very nice little restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Had the three course meal . Soup was lovely. Steak done to perfection with salad and chips. Followed by profiteroles which were yummy. Staff were attentive and house wine very tasty. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone trying to keep to a budget in Brugge. Certainly much better than those in the tourist areas.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    185
    33
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

We went for lunch and it was uncrowded and very pleasant. I got the prefixed menu, which was delicious and a good deal. Our waitress was quick and polite.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Very polite staff and excellent service. We went for the tourist menu is 17 euros for 3 courses which provides great value. Surprisingly we the courses are large and the quality of food is great.
Escape the tourist traps and try here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gilligham kent
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“As good as it sounded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

After reading its reviews we decided that we would try it out if we could get a table. We arrived in Bruges 29/06/2013 in the afternoon and had a walk about to see where else we could eat that evening, we earmarked a couple of places. But we ended up getting a table here, they say you should book but we got one of the last tables available (for two). A lot of people were being turned away, as the evening went on.The service, food, ambience were superb, the restaurant is pristine, which is more that can be said for some on the market square. The food was well cooked and well presented, best meal we have had in Bruges for a long time. We will return but will book in advance to avoid disappointment.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, great food and good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Lovely restaurant with good ambiance and great food. We had the tourist menu which is great value and a lovely bottle of wine which was a little bit pricey but worth it. Service was excellent, very attentive but not intrusive in the slightest. I had the steak with pepper sauce which was delicious! I would highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gruuthuse Hof also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Gruuthuse Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gruuthuse Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.