We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious, but pricey!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Souffleur

Brasserie Souffleur
Vlamingstraat 58, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32(0)50/34.82.92
Improve this listing
Ranked #213 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $16 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious, but pricey!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We wandered in here after the restaurant we had been looking for turned out to be shut on Saturday afternoons. The Flemish stew with Belgian fries and beer was delicious, and just the perfect thing for a cold day. The service was friendly and the interior was modern and pretty. But on the chalk sign outside it had said the stew was €8.75 when in fact someone had wiped off the leading 1 and the actual price was €18.75! For a couple used to London prices, this seemed very high. Still, Bruges is not a cheap place to eat and the food and service were very good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    57
    11
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Went there on 01/01/2013. Didn't have a booking, just saw the place and decided to give it a go for dinner. The atmosphere was very nice and the waiter was very friendly. We ordered a Flemish stew with Belgian fries and a medium fillet steak with peppercorn sauce...everything was really tasty! The steak was perfect - juicy, not too rare, not too cooked, exactly how a medium should look like. Prices were also reasonable for what you get - 2 mains, a glass of wine and a pint of beer came up to €50 (with the tip). We were very very pleased with the place and I definitely recommend it to everyone who's planning a visit to Bruges.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Prefect brasserie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Nicely located brasserie, with view on the city theater.
Always very good ingredients, quality food and service, excellent wines.
Perfect for any occasion! Our favorite dining place in Bruges!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire England
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Chic, Sophisticated and Stylish!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Pre-booked table for 7.00pm on Christmas Eve and enjoyed good service until things got crazy around 8.30pm when the staff were almost running from table to table and the place was buzzing with diners waiting for a table, to be served, or, like us in the hope of getting a pudding!! We really enjoyed our evening in this chic, sophisticated restaurant where the stylish meet and sip champagne with food that is not only presented well, but tastes delicious.
Two courses, glasses of champagne and a nice bottle of Spanish red cost us 134 Euros - our most expensive meal to date but worth it! Id certainly visit this restaurant again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“All round excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We were recommended this restaurant by the owners of Au Petit Grand in Bruges when they were fully booked. We were not disappointed. On Christmas Eve they were incredibly busy but still gave us excellent service and wonderful food all at very good value. The scallops as a starter were exceptional so was the venison and steak.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Souffleur also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to Brasserie Souffleur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Souffleur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.