We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service with a big smile” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In't Nieuw Museum

In't Nieuw Museum
Hooistraat 42, Bruges 8000, Belgium
+32 50 33 12 80
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 549 Restaurants in Bruges
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food, friendly service with a big smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Great steak, tasty ribs, relaxed service (guys in jeans), lovely and cosy and warm inside, wouled definitely go back there to eat. 2 mains, large portions we paid 45€, well worth the money.
G and enjoy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    128
    26
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant with open flame cooking, great steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our second visit to Bruges and to In't Nieuw Museum ... Fantastic once again. We arrived on the Friday evening without booking and luckily was able to be given a table for four. We had to wait a while but sat at the bar with a beer or two. This restaurant is run by a family of dad and two sons front of house and mum in the kitchen. Lovely atmosphere, friendly and the food , for meat eaters , is superb ! We all had rib eye steaks that were melt in your mouth. Just one down side , the starters were a bit expensive for what we had but would still return next time we visit Bruges.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food in a traditional Belgian pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited this pub/restaurant this month and had a great dining experience. It was full of locals and tourists alike and had a great buzzing atmosphere. The food was incredible. I had a whole rack of ribs which were coated in a spice mix with potato gratin (€16) and it was delicious. My boyfriend had a steak with Roquefort sauce and potato 'on the grill' which was also cooked to perfection. He claimed it to be one of the best steaks ever! The beer selection (as you would expect in Bruge) was good and the staff were friendly. Would recommend this place to anyone who likes a good meal, particularly meat, as it is grilled in the front of the restaurant on a proper open fire. Traditional Belgian decor of old beer signs and wall hangings made the place feel authentic also. Overall it was Good value, had tasty food and drinks and a warming environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Nice understated restaurant worth the walk from the centre.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here for evening scoff on the back of other Tripadvisor recommendations. We had a bit of trouble funding it..! However as it turned out we had actually walked past it, commenting to each other that it looked nice etc., It's a good ten minute walk from the Main Square but this shouldn't be a downside as you walk past some lovely residential streets that you might not otherwise see on a visit to Bruges. We had booked which think was advisable although they had a couple of spare tables. Restaurant is small and intimate and you are quite close to your fellow diners. Menu is simple and straightforward with a definite emphasis on steak: we had onglet. There were a few other things such as ribs ( they looked nice) and salmon. The real piece de resistance is the fireside grill where everything is cooked in front of you by I think the proprietor ( it's a family run business - another good thing). We couldn't help taking a peek at the grilll afterwards and the owner/chef came over to us and answered our questions etc. All in all and excellent restaurant and the only word of warning is that they play a bit of a an early game, and arriving any time 2145 onwards might mean you'll be turned away.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food and great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Visited here just earlier this week, booked a table online via RestoBookings for my husband and I and our 2 year old. Food was gorgeous, beer is great and service was fantastic. What more can you ask for! Small children's menu available and the wait for food is quite quick. Their card machine wasn't working and they actually allowed us to leave without paying, trusting us to come back the next day to pay in cash. Really lovely people and attentive to our daughter. Will visit again when in Bruges!! Oh and its easy walking distance from the main square, 5-10 mins or so.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed In't Nieuw Museum also viewed

Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 
Bruges, West Flanders Province
Bruges, West Flanders Province
 

Been to In't Nieuw Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In't Nieuw Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.