We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Mexico

New Mexico
Muntstraat 34, Leuven 3000, Belgium
+32 16 20 74 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 285 Restaurants in Leuven
Price range: $18 - $33
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Surprise in Leuven since we were in New Mexico only last month. The fajitas were good as was the sangria. They could work a little more on authenticity, but overall a good experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    27
    16
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“nice outside dining”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Tables on the outside in the pedestrian area 'the muntstraat' can not be reserved, so we were rather lucky to be able to get one on a warm summer evening in August. Very relaxed atmosphere. The mojito aperitif was in my view not the best that I have drunk and certainly somewhat overpriced. Meals were fine, the fajitas with chicken is very nice - the platos combinados offer a mix of possibilities - with mixed quality. House wine was rather to be avoided.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cheese Cheese Cheese”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Been here two times with friends.
Both times me and my friends were not given mexican food, however something covered with an oxorbitantly amount of cheese...

Can't say I tasted anything beside from the cheese.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diegem, Belgium
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“3 visits”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The first time I visited this restaurant it was very delicious. But later on I had two bad experiences. The food tasted to neutral. Like there were no flavours in it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Bad aftertaste”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

3 of us were sick after eating here. Not sure wether it was the food or the pre-mixed lukewarm pina colada they served us. Either way, it was definitely related to our visit. Having been here a lot, unfortunetaly the food has become more and more uninspired over the years. After our last ordeal, we decided that we will not return.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to New Mexico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Mexico, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.