We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel New Damshire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel New Damshire to your Saves list
Hotel New Damshire
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schapenstraat 1 (Pater Damiaanplein), Leuven 3000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Leuven
Naples, Italy
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good but not the best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Considering the price of the rooms it is not the best choice in Leuven.
The Hotel is few steps from the center of the city but the rooms are very small and some of them are very noisy. The breakfast is good but not more than the average. I was there several times and the last time they gave me an underroof camera and they did not inform me that there were heavy works of the side building so each morning the wake up was terrible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    14
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
5
8
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Compared to other hotels in the area, this one is cheap, although it doesnt look like from the outside. The rooms are very small, the walls thin, so you can basically hear everything happening outside the room. Lifts look very used (scratched paint etc.), and main staircase reminds me very narrow fire exit.

On the other hand, its clean, very comfortably located (around 2 minutes walk from the city centre) and the staff is friendly. I can recommend this to you if you are on budget and dont care about luxury that much. Dont bring your fiance here, but if you want to spend a night out with your friend in Leuven, why pay more than necessary?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I travel there for a conference. The location is excellent, very close to the center of the city. The personel was friendly and helpful for all matters. Breakfast was ok, but very standard, but I did not expect more.
Negatove points: The rooms are very small.
Most important: The price is perhaps too large for what it offers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Göteborg
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The hotel itself is normal good standard, but fresh baked bread for breakfast and always very helpful and nice staff in the reception makes it standing out of the mass. I will go back next time I'm in Leuven.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed in New Damshire hotel for three nights last march. I attended an international conference that was held in KU of Leuven. Therefore it was difficult to book a hotel, they were almost fully booked,the only available was New Damshire. When I saw the pictures of hotel in its official website I didn't like it at all. I was prepared for the worst and i was a little apprehensive. But, when I finally arrived there I got surprised. The location was perfect, only 200 m from the conference building. The place was very quite and ,most important my room was very comfortable , it was very clean,it was nicely furnished, it was not small, it had the right size. The breakfast was tasty, I mean you did not have many kind of foods but it was ok, some fresh fruits, yogurt and milk, cheese brioche and eggs, some tasteful cakes. The guy at the reception desk is so friendly,and polite and can help you with his suggestions. I mean, Leuven is a very small, perfect city and you can be organized very quickly and perfectly there, but you know, the natives can suggest you a good restaurant , a nice bar. I liked so much this hotel, and certainly next time I will visit Leuven I will definitely stay in New Damshire. This hotel did not disappointed me at all,he met my usual expectations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were here for one night. it has everything you ask for in a hotel, it was clean, nice breakfast and private secure parking. rooms might look small, but they're very sufficient. Very close to the centre. Loved the family run look and feel, instead of the large chains. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back, and we didn't hear anything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Didn't expect much based on the pictures. But staying there was very nice and comfortable. We travelled with a three year old and his bed was made up in a quite spary room, they even gave us choice.
One squeaky bed however, but they would fix that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel New Damshire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel New Damshire

Address: Schapenstraat 1 (Pater Damiaanplein), Leuven 3000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Leuven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel New Damshire 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel New Damshire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel New Damshire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.