We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Leuven Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Leuven Centrum to your Saves list
Novotel Leuven Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vuurkruisenlaan 4, Leuven 3000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Leuven
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This was a one night stop on route to Austria. The hotel is very comfortable with large rooms. It is not the best location as it is next to the Stella Artois factory which does send out a malty aroma. The breakfast was very good indeed. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room which faces the Stella factory
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    201
    70
    9
    8
See reviews for
79
88
22
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, OH
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Pros: The hotel is very convenient to reach by car -- you won't struggle trying to maneuver around pedestrian-only streets like you will downtown -- and there is parking. The rooms are modern and clean. We had a queen sized bed. The bathroom was separated into a toilet-only and shower-only room, which makes living comfortable for two travelers.

Cons: The wi-fi was spotty. The bed was much too firm -- a bit like sleeping on a bag of rice, like in Japan. Some may like it. Breakfast was expensive. The area is a bit industrial. We had a nice view of the Stella plant.

You will find a pedestrian-only walkway not far from the hotel, near the bus station, which leads straight downtown. We took other routes downtown the first couple days, but discovered this preferable route later. There are only a few restaurants near the hotel, but the walk is kind of nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Creek, Florida
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Typical big chain hotel in a not so convenient location in Leuven. Garage very cramped & difficult to move in. We got back late & the ticket/door system was not operating. Rooms reasonably clean--but the usual inadequate lighting. No convenient outlets for my wife to dry/curl hair. No Kleenex in the tissue box in the bathroom We had to take some off a service cart in the hallway.Insufficient towels--no face cloths. Very slow elevator. No complimentary bottle of water, It's obvious that they skimp on everything. We will try another hotel next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We have recently stayed at this hotel twice and will probably stay there again when we return to Leuven in the coming months. It is within a reasonable walking distance from the railway and bus station and the town centre. It is very modern, clean and the staff are all very helpful and speak perfect English. The rooms are very clean, with modern furnishings. There is a modern flat screen TV with wall inputs for HDMI etc so the TV can be used as a large monitor. The TV receives BBC1 and BBC2. There is free wifi in every room plus a network internet connection. There are tea and coffee making facilities too. I cannot speak for the meals as we ate out but the restaurant looked attractive and popular. We requested a taxi on each occasion and on both times it was there waiting for us when we came down. I can't think of anything to criticise about this hotel - a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

That's the best place in Leuven to have a pint of Leffe Royale! Forget all regular bars that stays open only until 10pm! Drop by and ask for Andre and Nelis perfect beer for any occasion! The same thing for the Hotel, very nice and clean!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loon Op Zand, Netherlands
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

As the Novotel Leuven Centrum is very convenient located near the headquarters of AB InBev where I work frequently, this is my home away from home when I have to stay over. And it sure is a pleasure to stay here, especially after the hotel has been entirely refurbished - well decorated rooms with great bedding and friendly staff who make me always feel welcome. It is also conveniently located near the Leuven station and bus terminal and a 15 min walk from the central city square. Don't forget to enjoy a Stella Artois at the hotel bar - being brewed across the street in the Stella Artois brewery :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SophieVanRiet, Front Office Manager at Novotel Leuven Centrum, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Mr Panis,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Novotel Leuven Centrum. It is with great pleasure that we receive your compliments.

I will share your comments with our team. They will be very happy to hear from you.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you very soon again!

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grenoble
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

When you choose a Novotel hotel, you do not expect a original hotel.
This one is fully in line with the Novotel brand : modern and efficient.
Even if its name is Leuven Centrum you are not really in the heart of the old Leuven city but 700m from the Leuven railway and bus station and roughly 1km from the real center (Grote Markt).

Very clean, silent and well equipped room, good breakfast buffet, efficient check in and out.
For a business stay it is a good place to stay.

They also have a fitness and hamman on the first floor but i have not used it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Leuven Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Leuven Centrum

Address: Vuurkruisenlaan 4, Leuven 3000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > Flemish Brabant Province > Leuven
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Leuven
#4 Business Hotel in Leuven
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leuven
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Leuven Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 139
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern and trendy hotel is the perfect base from which to discover the historical centre of Leuven and the surrounding area.From this convenient location you can easily visit many old treasures, such as the famous 15th century Town Hall, built in a Gothic architectural style. Take advantage of the main train station and the highway in the vicinity to explore the wide and green surroundings of this art city. Back in the hotel, you can work up a sweat in the fitness room and afterwards enjoy a drink in our bar or have something to eat in our Foodsquare restaurant. The bustling nightlife is just a stone’s throw from the hotel , but if you prefer to relax, you can indulge in a relaxing steam bath or you can retreat in your spacious, comfortable and stylishly decorated ‘Next’ room. All the ‘Next’ rooms, according to the new novotel concept, are non smoking and are provided with free WIFI and coffee and tea facilities. Up to 2 children (15 years and under) stay free when sharing with parents.The Novotel Leuven is also the ideal place for your business trips. It is close to major road networks and the train station, and has six meeting rooms accommodating 200 people for seminars or conferences . A stay in the historic and lively city of Leuven is always a pleasure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR and Despegar.com so you can book your Novotel Leuven Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Leuven Centrum Hotel Leuven
Leuven Novotel
Accor Leuven Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Leuven Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.