We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food that won't break the bank” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le chameau s'en fout

Le chameau s'en fout
Dirk Boutslaan 14, Leuven 3000, Belgium
+32 (0)16 50 90 14
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 285 Restaurants in Leuven
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food that won't break the bank”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This small restaurant is very popular with the locals. You need to make a reservation at least three weeks in advance in order to get in. The menu offers a mix of French, Belgian and Italian cuisine. Nothing fancy, but well-prepared basic dishes offered in generous portions. The menu card is changed every month, which makes it interesting to return regularly to this address. The choice on the menu is limited : 6 entrees and 6 mains, half of them meat dishes, the other half fish. A three course meal is offered at 30 euro, but quite a few dishes require a supplement, so you'd probably pay between 35 and 40 euro. The wine offering is very interesting indeed : excellent wines at very reasonable prices. A pity though that many wines were not available anymore when we visited. Service is friendly but discreet. We liked it a lot. High quality comfort food in enjoyable cosy surroundings. An address to remember and to return to with family and friends.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    25
    4
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uccle, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Very good address in Leuven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We were a group of 8 people with pre-selected meal. I have been impressed by the quality of the service and by the quality and quantity of the food. They have excellent wines at a reasonnable price - we had a Rully and a Côtes de Castillon and every one liked them.
The price was aprox. €60 per person all included. I will go there again!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good quality for a nice price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

For the second time we went for lunch at the Chameau s'en fout. For 15 Euro you get a fixed lunch : correct first course and main dish are served. Table cloths, napkins, olive oil, house wines, coffee : classy ! The owners are perfectionists, inspired by the French gastronomy tradition.
In the future, we will certainly go for dinner.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

Our expectations were set quite high as we had to make reservations early. Diner was very nice and served well. The wine was recommended by the very correct and friendly host and was outstanding.
We enjoyed every moment of it, and even when the bill came, we were pleasantly surprised.
Another plus is the smokers area for those among us who can't restrain themselves, it's outside and then again not.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best price/quality in Leuven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Been there several times and everytime it's excellent. Classic belgian-french cuisine, with hints off italian and asian. Good portions (not to small, not to big), well seasoned, ok winelist. Small restaurant with homy atmosphere but still modern interior. Because the good quality it's well known with locals so make sure you make a reservation.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le chameau s'en fout also viewed

Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
Leuven, Flemish Brabant Province
 

Been to Le chameau s'en fout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le chameau s'en fout, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.