We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uncomfortable bed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Trelawne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Trelawne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trelawne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Offers
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Mawnan Smith
London, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable bed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We chose this hotel as we thought it would be ideal; unfortunately it was disappointing. Our bed was well past it - lumpy with gapping hollows left us with bad back aches. The noise of ball games and children running above us every evening was distracting and annoying. The sea view at a distance was lovely. Getting to a beach meant going onto a road with no space for pedestrians - unsafe for children or pets. The breakfast was very good indeed, however the evening meal was poor: rubbery steak and soggy mash wasn't really good value for money. Tea, biscuits were not replaced by the cleaner.
On our first morning the waitress told us that guests normally keep dogs in their cars during breakfast - as they charged for his stay we found this nonsense especially with a quiet pet. We stay at hotels often in UK and abroad. My Fiance also travels on business often. As seasoned holiday makers we had a wonderful time in Cornwall. However we like to feel welcome and comfortable so for this reason we wouldn't recommend this hotel. Winner Family

Room Tip: Check the bed first to avoid a bad back!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
trelawne, Owner at Trelawne Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We are very dog friendly here at Trelawne, however you dog was left unattended in your room, to be left barking profusely, howling and scratching at the door. This sort of behaviour would not be accepted in any hotel. Despite being assured that your dog was 'quiet' and fine alone we received complaints from guests trying to relax to the sound of your distressed dog. It is our policy here that dogs are not left alone to bark and disturb other paying guests, as all our other families with dogs fully respect and understand. We were quite gob-smacked by your attitude to other guests comfort and disregard for the room itself. We have lot's of dogs staying with us and never have an issue.
The bed in your room was in fact purchased last year and is an orthopaedic mattress, especially requested by guests with back problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
109
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Neath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for six nights four in a sea view room and two in the country view. First impression was very good the smell of fresh flowers and very clean everywhere. We were met at the door by Emily and checked in and shown to our room by Mr Gibbons the owner who showed us where everything was and how it worked. The sea view room was excellent huge bed and a great bathroom which looked like it had not long been refurbished, yes the decor is dated but its in keeping with the country house hotel look.The country room was smaller with a standard double bed, an over the bath shower and a view of the car park. So I would recommend the sea view if you can get one. The only improvement that ccould be made is to renew the kettles, both rooms the kettle had yellowed and didn't look very appealing, also the hairdriers are not up to the job just small travel ones so ladies bring your own. The hairdrier in our room was broken but to the hotels credit it was replaced that day with a new one.
We only ate in the restaurant for one night and the food and service was excellent but a little pricey. The breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and all freshly cooked. Not the hotels fault but some guests were using their laptops on the breakfast table with the various noises that a laptopst make try the mute button and be more considerate to other guests.
There is wifi available at the hotel but only in the public areas and not in the rooms, but this is stated on the web site maybe it could be provided in the bedrooms in future as mobile reception is not the best as in a rural setting.
The hotel is in a lovely setting very peaceful with lovely views from the lounge and dining room. There is a lovely country inn a few minutes drive away in mawnan smith named The Red Lion well worth a visit, but watch you head if your tall low beams. Falmouth only a ten minute drive away and a lovely beach two minutes away at maenporth, three pounds to park all day at the beach but turn up at late afternoon and its still three pounds bit of a rip off!!!
All in all a lovely hotel and would recommend it highly, would use again if staying in the Falmouth area.
M & J Jenkins

Room Tip: Sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It can be a bit tricky to find, if you're not from around and mind the narrow roads when you drive in, specially at night when there's no lights on some parts of the road! We where very well received when we checked in. The receptionist was expecting us and took us to a lovely room with a somewhat dated décor but perfectly functional. The room was very clean and tidy with lots of space and had great views of the sea! The bed was huge, although the mattress was a bit too soft for me. Nice shower, hot and powerful as I like it. TV set was a smaller than average plasma.

At night we had dinner in the dining room which has beautiful views over the sea. The food was great but both me and my partner found it was a bit on the expensive side. Oddly enough, you have a fix numbered table, depending on your room, i.e. if you're unlucky enough to land on a bad table you'll ever get the best sea views.

Back to our room, we noticed none of our devices could even "see" the Wi-Fi network let alone use it, and just before sleep we realized how thin the walls must be as we could easily ear other people talking, but we were tired from the journey so eventually we fell asleep.

The next morning we also noticed there were no blinds just plain curtains so if the sun light awakes you, go prepared! We got up and had breakfast and it was very good. The variety ranges from a selection of continental options to a la carte English breakfast - we always had the latter.

All in all a great place, and a good experience but there's some room for improvement if the place is to reap its full potential.

In summary, the goods:

- Great views
- Very tidy and clean
- Friendly staff and excellent service
- Good food

Not so goods:

- Fix tables depending on your room number
- Thin bedroom walls / sound isolation
- No blinds
- Dinner could reach a better value for money ratio
- Poor Wi-Fi coverage

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with sea view and ensure they correspond to a good dinner table - see review.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Went for a couple of nights for our 20th anniversary, couldn't, have chosen anywhere better. Our room was very comfy, very clean and had the most spectacular view of the sea.The food was excellent, we dined in the restaurant the two nights, different menu each night, it was cooked to perfection and service was second to none.Would we recommend this hotel, oh yes, I defy you to find better for the price! C & B Laws.

Room Tip: Only had experience of sea view double room, but well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead, Berks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Having recently enjoyed our 6/7th annual stay at this hotel, we can confirm that the high standards we found on our first visit have not changed: everything is conducted under the direction of the resident owning family and they and their staff go out of their way to make guests feel welcome and at home. The accomodation is comfortable without being pretentious and the meals are well cooked and varied - in fact, for those, like us, on the half-board tariff, the dinner menu was changed every day, so that there was something different on offer every one of the seven nights that we were there.

As to the location, in our view what better place is there to be, situated as the hotel is in a rural setting on high ground overlooking the full sweep of Falmouth Bay, with, in one direction, the entrance to Carrick Roads to be seen and, in the other, Rosemullion Head. The best views of these features are to be had from the upper floors of the hotel and, in this regard, Room 21 is to be recommended.

We hope to return.

Room Tip: Rooms on first/top floors offer best views out over Falmouth Bay but ground floor rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks Cross, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We can't sing our praises loud enough to the excellent staff. They all performed their duties to a very high standard. We were most impressed with the choice of menu at breakfast and dinner. Varied and well cooked food and delightfully presented. Every attention to detail was given during our week long stay. Staff friendly and very attentive.
Our only criticism was the limited and flaky coverage of the wi-fi signal. No one likes opening their emails in the public area.
We would however still rate this hotel exceptional and thoroughly recommend you visit.

Room Tip: Sea View Bedroom. Fantastic panoramic view in dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pucklechurch
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel for a number of years now and as far as I can see will do so as long as we are able. The view from the hotel is fantastic and if there is a better one anywhere I don't where it is. Right from arrival to departure its like being part of a family with attentive staff to see to your every need. Good food good wine list comfortable lounge top class dining room with a view, its a pleasure to keep making return visits.
W.T.Trueman

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trelawne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawne Hotel

Address: Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelawne Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawne, a unique country house hotel, enjoys an unrivaled position with panoramic views of Falmouth Bay over to Rosemullion Headland. The Trelawne offers rooms with fabulous sea views and crisp white linen. Fresh seasonal locally sourced produce is served in our restaurant, which too has fantastic panoramic views. Experience for yourself the peace and tranquility of this unspoilt part of Cornwall, where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the abundance of walks from the hotel and surrounding area. Owned and managed by the Gibbons family for 40 years, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food. Some of Cornwall's most famous gardens are close by, along with sailing, golf and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trelawne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawne Hotel Falmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trelawne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.