We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trelawne Hotel

Save Saved
You added Trelawne Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trelawne Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HS, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Offers
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Mawnan Smith
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“A Happy Return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My wife and I have just re-visited this lovely Hotel. We once again thoroughly enjoyed our stay, especially the excellent and varied cuisine and totally relaxing atmosphere. The service was good throughout our visit.
We will certainly be re-visiting again in the future. As other guests indicated to us during our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    30
    5
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
109
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed Saturday 6th July for two nights.this was our second stay so we knew it was very good. I am happy to say that it is even better. Our room was a standard double with a sea view. It was very clean and the bed was very comfortable.the shower would put many 5 star hotels to shame,very high pressure and perfect temperature control.

The bar and lounge are beautifully kept and there is an excellent variety of local beers and ciders. Sitting in an armchair with a glass of Cider looking out at one of the most beautiful views in the UK is a great pleasure not to be missed.

We ate dinner on both nights and on both occasions it was very good. The menu changes every day and ingredients are sourced locally wherever possible.

Breakfasts are varied and plentiful and again, served in a room with a million dollar view.

Beautiful beaches are in walking distance and you are 10 minutes drive from Helford and many other beautiful villages.

We can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This is a country hotel with wonderful sea views in a lovely location, and situated very close to Falmouth. The public areas (restaurant, bar and lounge) are very tastefully furnished, and very comfortable and relaxing. This is a family run hotel in the truest sense - the owner and his family work extremely hard to ensure the comfort and pleasure of all guests, and they are particularly pleasant and helpful at all times, and we were made very welcome by all of them. Breakfast and dinner were excellent - high quality food, and beautifully served, with a good choice always. The bar is well stocked, and there is an interesting and extensive wine list, which is reasonably priced.We had a superior room with sea views - it was well furnished, a good size and exceptionally comfortable. Bathroom was large with impressive fittings. We look forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a superior room with sea views - well worth the extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A friendly, efficient, family-run hotel with polite and attentive staff. The food and wine choice is excellent, and we thoroughly enjoyed our 7-day stay in a comfortable room with a beautiful sea view. The hotel is in a quiet location with easy parking.

Richard

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lovely Hotel. Very clean and tidy. Nothing too much trouble for the staff. Very well furnished. Comfortable bed.
In a quiet position right in the country with beautiful views.
Food excellent.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Asked for a low floor room, and we were allocated a room on the ground floor. For anyone that has d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mold
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Food excellent and varied. Room nicely furnished, bathroom had bath and shower. Restaurant and comfortable lounge both had views out to sea. Owner and staff friendly and helpful. I intend to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed 4 days as part of a West Country tour and it was definitely our best stop. A wonderful hotel. Manager and staff helpful and friendly when you need it and stay in the background when not. Food excellent quality, local produce where possible, evening menus varied daily by a chef who clearly knew his/her stuff.
Well off the beaten track so not for you if you want noisy nightlife. If you want a quiet after dinner drink and natter or read, in armchairs you can sink into, then look no further.
The decor may not be what many of us would have in our own homes, being reminiscent of days gone by, but dont think this is old decor. So spotlessly clean throughout that it looked freshly decorated the week before. Most important is that it suits this lovely old building perfectly. Its just the right style for a peaceful holiday in a peaceful part of the country.
We dont come to the West Country often enough. When we come again we'll arrange the trip to include another stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Trelawne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trelawne Hotel

Address: Maenporth Road, Mawnan Smith, Falmouth TR11 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Falmouth > Mawnan Smith
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Mawnan Smith
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Trelawne Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trelawne, a unique country house hotel, enjoys an unrivaled position with panoramic views of Falmouth Bay over to Rosemullion Headland. The Trelawne offers rooms with fabulous sea views and crisp white linen. Fresh seasonal locally sourced produce is served in our restaurant, which too has fantastic panoramic views. Experience for yourself the peace and tranquility of this unspoilt part of Cornwall, where you can relax, unwind and enjoy the abundance of walks from the hotel and surrounding area. Owned and managed by the Gibbons family for 40 years, we pride ourselves on our friendly service and excellent food. Some of Cornwall's most famous gardens are close by, along with sailing, golf and horse riding. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Trelawne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trelawne Hotel Falmouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trelawne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.