We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Ghent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Korenlei Twee

Korenlei Twee
Korenlei 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
09 224 00 73
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 584 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $58 - $123
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“One of the best in Ghent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is probably one of the best restaurants in Ghent! We have been here twice and were delighted every time. We even recommend is to everybody we know who is going or staying in Ghent. Very classy and friendly service and excellent food. Interiour is modern but warm.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    52
    17
    11
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful view; some staff not up to standard”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have eaten here several times, and will probably return before too long, but our most recent visit was somewhat marred by a junior staff member clearly not in control of what is needed in a higher-end restaurant (order in which you serve people; remembering who ordered what; serving from one side consistently; not dropping stuff to the floor). Overall, service was rather slow, which we have noticed in the past too. The boss could be a bit bossier with staff, is my guess.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great restaurant, must try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We have eaten here now two times. Both were excellent. The service is good, though we did have to wait quite a while for our check. The filet steaks were excellent, the best I have had in Belgium. Cooked perfectly and of course the french fries were also awesome. If you can get a table on the patio outside overlooking the river it is highly recommended. They also have large beers on draft (1/2 liter) which many restaurants do not offer. Nice wine list. Prices are excellent for the quality of the food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merelbeke, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Romantic restaurant at the heart of Ghent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

You can't be closer to the heart of Ghent than at the Korenlei twee.
French-Belgian quisine with good dishes and good service.
A bit pricy but it's worth it!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great terrace and tasty food without originality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

On a beautiful day in Ghent, the terrace of the Korenlei is an oasis of peace among the hordes of tourists roaming the streets.
Starter was disappointing - a handful of pale iceberg lettuce lost among fussy squiggles of balsamic vinegar.
Nothing fancy in the menu but main course was faring better with very tasty pork perfectly cooked and preceded by a welcome chardonnay sorbet.
Reasonably priced considering the prime location.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Korenlei Twee also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Korenlei Twee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Korenlei Twee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.