We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Vegetarian Options” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon 1

Avalon 1
Geldmunt 32, Ghent 9000, Belgium
09 2243724
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 501 restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Vegetarian Options”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was here a few days ago. I couldn't have been happier to find this place. It was delicious but maybe a bit more expensive than what I would pay for vegetarian food at home. There was a really nice outdoor space to sit and eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    18
    7
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Nice veggy lunch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

The meals are overpriced for what you would expect from a veggy restaurant in the uk but it falls in line with average lunch prices in ghent. Overall food was good.

Menus were provided to us in English.

Me and my partner decided to have different dishes to share. Him the daily platter with cold veg and me the ruebens sourdough with hot veg. When they arrived our plates were identical apart from the main dish. Despite this the food was delcious. The location is perfect for a days siteseeing but be warned its opening hours are short.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great veggie food !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

A decent meal is not always easy to find in a restaurant,Avalon is one of those rare places where the choice is bigger than mushroom risotto. The restaurant offers normally great vegetarian lunches, but a real feast is the gourmet dinner that they serve on the first weekend of every month. Great food, original recipes and all for a great price/quality ratio in a fantastic atmosphere. We have never been disappointed !!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing variety on each plate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I've been here twice (once summer, once winter) and both times we were impressed with the variety presented to us. Both times I ordered "tempeh ruben" which sounds dull but actually includes about 7 different items on the plate! Seasonal vegetables, grain-of-the-day, lots of greens, excellent sauces/dressings, good bread -- this is hard to beat! There aren't a lot of really good vegetarian restaurants in Belgium/Nederland, but this is one of them! It even starts to remind me of the Moosewood in Ithaca, NY, USA (I've been there many times), although it is more "tapas-like" instead of the Moosewood's big main dishes. In summer the little courtyard out back is great, and in winter the various rooms each have their mismatched charm. Gent is apparently a very veggie-friendly town, and when I visit again if I can resist visiting Avalon a third time I'll see how the other vegetarian restaurants compare.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best vegetarian food in Gent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I discovered this place some years ago when I first went to Gent. Just went there a couple of days ago after some time and it has got better! Nice atmosfere and great food even if you're not vegetarian!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalon 1 also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Avalon 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.