We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty meaty ribs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amadeus Ghent 1

Amadeus Ghent 1
Plotersgracht 8, Ghent 9000, Belgium
32 (0)497 438 571
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 538 Restaurants in Ghent
Price range: $15 - $24
Cuisines: Barbecue, Belgian, Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Gloucestershire UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty meaty ribs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit. They do try and cram as many people as they can in, very cosy with diners on tables either side of you. The ribs were delicious, very lean and tasty. Waiters offering seconds of potatoes and ribs. Great atmosphere. Would certainly eat here again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    223
    89
    32
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Catania, Italy
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Skip this”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Nice place, decent food but very bad service, and it's a pity, because it could be a very cozy spot to come back to over and over, but I definitely left the restaurant with the firm decision not to step in it anymore in my future visits to Ghent.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“If you like ribs you will love Amadeus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just has a fabulous, and very tasty meal of ribs at Amadeus. The staff are so friendly and the atmosphere is perfect for couple, ( that was us) , families or even parties, just a great evening out. Thank you

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
“Great food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I went to Amadeus twice during my recent visit for a conference. Once with a friend, where we had an exceptionally long wait for menus, then to have our order taken and then drinks/food to be brought to us. I'm from Ireland, so I'm used to slow service, this was SLOW!! Don't think we would have minded so much but it was a really warm day and the place was boiling so a drink would have kept us happy while waiting!

Second visit was for a large company dinner. Still slow service but completely different as we were part of this big group. We had the same server as our first visit, Devin, lovely chap. Got talking with him and he made sure we had drinks and food for the evening. Just be warned that the water costs 6 euro a bottle. Dev explained to us that they have a very efficient water cleansing system that they paid quite a lot for!!!

The ribs are good and they are all you can eat. Served with a baked potato that's loaded with a garlic and herb butter that would make you lick the plate! And a salad, dressing was nice enough. They have plenty of different local beers, great for the beer enthusiast.

I'd recommend it but be prepared to wait and try to avoid sitting in the small room to the left. Try to get further into the restaurant. Funky decor with a 'library' room!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere, Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I went there on a thursday night, heard about the place by recommendation of a co-worker (I am a foreigner, working in Ghent during the week for a long term project), The place neither crowded nor empty, and offered a nice and cosy alternative to the pelting rain outside. The decoration is beautiful in 1920ies style, visual as well as acoustical. The waitresses and waiters were very polite and attentive. I ordered the local specialty, ribs a volante (spare ribs, all you can eat) and I was served a plate with nicely grilled spare ribs in a tasy barbecure sauce, a baked potato and salat. From time to time one of the waiters asked if I still wanted another potato or some ribs and brought everything quickly. The price was more than fair and I am sure I this was not my last visit. However, something tells me to avoid the place at weekends or major holidays.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amadeus Ghent 1 also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to Amadeus Ghent 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amadeus Ghent 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.