We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem of a Fondue House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 't Gents Fonduehuisje

't Gents Fonduehuisje
Jan Breydelstraat 30, Ghent 9000, Belgium
09 2343405
Improve this listing
Ranked #438 of 537 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: Belgian, Dutch
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“A Gem of a Fondue House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This little place is a real treasure. It's right across the street from the Graveenstein Hotel, very close to the center of town and the castle, the back of the restaurant overlooks the one of the canals.

It's very charming and cozy inside, and the staff is friendly, helpful and speak English.
They have every kind of fondue you could want - cheese, chocolate and the oli/herbs de provence. Probably getting the mixed meats is a great way to go for two people. Unless you're really hungry the 200 grams of meat per person is sufficient.

It comes with a lovely salad and a big bowls of fries. (Nothing happens in Belgium without beer or without fries.) The fries they'll refill for free, if you want extra salad you'll have to pay for it. We found that we would have liked just a bit more salad because it was so tasty.

It's a small place, so reservations are needed on the weekends, otherwise it's not a problem walking it during the week. The cost for dinner for two was 54 euro, that's with the two portions of fondue and two beers, of course.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    13
    9
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
390 reviews 390 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a wonder little place. The fondue is great.. you can choose from large portions and smaller portions .. most fondue is built around the premise of 2 persons eating so choose wisely.. they have meat, fish and cheese fondues as well as deserts.
The staff is very friendly and accommodating. During the busy season a reservation is recommended, we seen many people turned away at the door because of this.. it’s a small cozy place. If your looking for fondue. Its perfect.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We went for an anniversary meal here in June. It was fantastic. The waitress was really helpful and explained the meal and advised us on what to expect. We chose the Beef foundue and the beef was some of the best we have had. The sauces were good too.

The only reason we havent given full marks is because it was expensive - but so is everywhere in Ghent!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“An expensive way to cook your own dinner!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I am all in favour of a fondue - it is a social way to enjoy food with friends, and a good cheese fondue is always a pleasure. However, I'm afraid this restaurant left a bitter taste in my mouth. The one person in the front of house was taciturn, offered no guidance on choice and just dropped the plates of bread and raw meat in front of us. The meat was reasonable quality, the cheese fondue tasty, but €40 per head (including drinks) to cook our own meal is not acceptable. In summary, this restaurant is over priced and you will find better value and better quality restaurants in the centre of Gent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice evening”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012 via mobile

We had a very nice and friendly dinner there. The meat, fish and chocolate fondues were very nice, service was good and nice beer. Altogether an enjoyable evening

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 't Gents Fonduehuisje also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to 't Gents Fonduehuisje? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 't Gents Fonduehuisje, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.