We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Marriott standards as usual!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Ghent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Ghent Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Ghent Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drabstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Christmas Market Special
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Perfect Marriott standards as usual!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

This Marriott, much like all others I've stayed at, was up to Marriott standards in every way - including their great beds! This was a great stay in a great location in Ghent - restaurants and all the sites right outside your door!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    663
    327
    48
    12
    11
See reviews for
188
505
42
172
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nj
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

Had a nice stay at the hotel for the same reasons many have elaborated on here. Disappointed that they do not have a Concierge Lounge for MR elite members but as Platinum they did upgrade me to Junior Suite (basically just a little larger room but had good light and a view of the castle) and a free drink and snack each night. Still would have preferred a lounge to relax.

On checkout I was presented with a bill and asked to confirm that the charges were correct. I did and signed it. Upon reconciling my Visa bill the conversion didn't look correct and upon closer look at the bottom of the invoice I see in fine print that they are charging me a 2.5% conversion fee because I requested to be charged in US dollars instead of euros. I was never given the option to be charged in dollars and if I had I would have declined it. There is NO reason anyone would want to pay in dollars. Every US credit card company charges their overseas conversion fee if the charge originates out of the USA (in fact my Schwab Visa charges no conversion fee for overseas charges). Doesn't matter if the charge is in dollars or local currency. I have contacted Marriott Corporate Platinum desk for them to get this reversed by the hotel. Just beware and check your bill carefully before signing as they may not verbally ask which you wish, they just do the conversion to dollars before they print the bill on their own.

By the way, if anyone is not aware the Schwab Visa gives 2% rebate on charges and has NO conversion fee for overseas transaction or for overseas ATMS.

Also internet very expensive here. 19.90e per day. If you need internet get a daypass from boingo for $19.95 US dollars. Save 30% at current exchange.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2009

Excellent, fast, accomodating check in and out. Very helpful and informative staff. Very central location, good room rates if booked early enough. We have stayed in many hotels in Europe on weekends away and this is the standard to set the level by. Also the most comfortable enormous beds we have stayed in including big hoetsl in Vegas! I have written to hotel in appreciation also. We would thoroughtly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2009

Whilst the vehicle approach to the rear causes some apprehension, giving the impression of location on a back street, on entry it is Immediately impressive. The reception is located at the edge of a stylish triangular atrium some 6 storeys high skirted by white linear balconies accessing the bedrooms on two sides and a huge curved glass wall on the third side. The atrium is an extremely pleasant informal seating area, used for drinks and coffees. The entrance to the town centre is on the far side of the atrium and appears just as a narrow passage. The hotel's high calibre restaurant is pased en route to the exit ... and voila! a huge panorama of Ghent suddenly appears as you step out of the door. From this side the hotel "disappears" and simply becomes part of the (very) historic fabric on the waterside. Signage is very discreet on this side but it is pedestrianised... you just need to remember from which door you came out.
The setting is just perfect, right beside the set off point for boat trips, both sides of the canal (actually a river we are told) are largely from the 17th century and very typical of ancient Belgian structures. The oldest building in Ghent stands immediately opposite.
The immediate area abounds with small atmospheric restaurants bistros and bars, slightly dearer than the Belgian average, but worth it.
At the time of my visit a rebuilding of the tram system in the city centre was causing some visual disruption to the main squares around the three city centre spires. This should be complete in 6 months at most, also aiding journeying to the railway station or outer areas, which temporarily need a bit more of a walk to reach the nearest tram stop to them.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wimbledon
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

We stayed for a night in this fantastic hotel. Very comfortable rooms and great location on the Graselei. It also has a car park and great if expensive restaurants. We were travelling with young kids (9 and 5) and got adjoining rooms. Sadly no discount! The rooms overlooking the canal must be great but none of them are adjoining - though our rooms were very nice anyway. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

Great location, great service, friendly staff, beautiful architecture! Only negative is that it is kind of difficult to get in and out of Gent by car.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drøbak
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

We stayed at this hotel one night in July as a part of our journey back home from France to Norway.

We had a large superior room with two baby cots (we was travelling with two small children), and found the room to be more than adequate for our need. It was quite roomy. Since we arrived late at the hotel we where not able to have dinner in the restaurant (which I understand to be very good), but we had dinner in our room instead (room service), and it was quite good. When we arrived at the hotel it was Ghent-fest in town, which we didn’t know anything about. Regrettably we where not able to enjoy that, due to two small children needing their sleep, and some incredibly hard rain outside. But the location of the hotel cannot be better for any hotel anywhere, right in the middle of everything. Despite that the hotel was quiet.

The first thing you notice when arriving is the architecture, which combines the old buildings with the new. The atrium is magnificent.

The breakfast is at normal Marriott standard, but could be better. I do not remember the rate we got for the room, but I do remember that we found it to be acceptable due to the quality of the room etc.

To sum this up, this was an excellent hotel for all purposes in Ghent.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Ghent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ghent Hotel

Address: Drabstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ghent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Ghent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Ghent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.