We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Ghent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Ghent Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Ghent Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drabstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Brussels
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The Marriott has a superb location to explore Ghent, just by the canal. The hotel is nice, clean, with a nice bar-area and a very good breakfast, nicely catered also for a gluten intolerant.The only complaint I have is that they have put some kind of protective plastic between the bed sheet and the bed, which makes it uncomfortable and hot.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal have the best views, obviously.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    376
    53
    16
    11
See reviews for
216
542
44
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed in the Marriott for 2 nights.the building itself is beautiful on the outside and on the inside not what you expect at all very modern at night it comes to life with light colour changes.The room we had was a canal view and worth the extra.very large king size bed lovely linen with three steps down to the en suite.We could walk down a wooden spiral staircase in the morning for breakfast if we did not want to use the lift.Breakfast was a delight with everything you could want from smoked fish to fruit from bacon to danish.Spread over three small rooms with one room holding the buffet.The only thing I would mention is the coffee/tea is something yo have to ask for and can take a while to get.The bar staff are a delight and even had me trying different G&Ts to compare for free.All in all a great trip and Ghent itself is lovely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Canal view worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were lucky to stay in room 329, all the way at the end of the hallway, with a beautiful view of the canal. Looking at the Marriott Hotel picture, we had the top left three window room - very nice. Room was also comfortable, clean, and quiet.
It's too bad there is no exec lounge at the Ghent Marriott, and they charge Elite members for full breakfast, but everything else is first class. Service is very good. Location could not be better. Taxi from trail is 9euros. Plenty of shops, restaurants, sights, etc. all within walking distance. Take to canal boat ride from right outside the Marriott.

Room Tip: 329 at any price
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Located on the most central and scenic canal in Gent, this wonderful hotel was so great we decided to extend our stay by one night using it as a base while visiting Bruges on the second day.

All personnel was incredibly friendly and helpful (although they could not help, of course, in reducing the cost of the parking which was 30 EUR per night in the hotel!!) and went above and beyond to ensure we got the most out of our stay.

The family room was among the most spacious I have experienced in many travels, with a wonderful, modern feel, large flatscreen HD TV, excellent bathroom facilities and room amenities.

On the second night sadly there were no family rooms, but we were accommodated in a room with a large king bed and an added extra bed which also proved very comfortable, also a very spacious room.

The breakfast... Well, I don't even know how to describe it. Such variety, incredible quality (English-style + Continental) buffet with items unseen in any other hotel, and incredibly friendly waiting staff and beautiful decor.

Recommended to anyone, will DEFINITELY be back!

Green Features: Excellent commitment to saving water by not washing towels unless required specifically
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

.....As frequent travelers, we have many choices in terms of our hotel stays - The City of Ghent is no exception. I have stayed at a few of the hotels in Ghent but the one I prefer is the Marriott. The team at the Marriott fully understands that we have choices and they go out of their way to provide exceptional service. I have observed over the past year changes in the staff - the one constant though has been the attention to service. Whether its Kevin, Frederic, Stephanie, Julie, Rene etc - you can count on attention to detail and consistency of service approach!

The one thing I wish they would do though is upgrade their fitness facilty with better equipment. Other than that - its a great place to stay!

Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
235 helpful votes 235 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This hotel sits on the best canal in Ghent and you look at it every time you leave the hotel.
The hotel is close to all the major sites which are easy walking distance and is close to the station.Just be aware it's a minimum 8.5 euro cab ride but it's worth staying here just for the location.
The hotel lobby is a wonderful glass and steel half circle which is hidden by the old building facades.Great use of old and new architecture.
The hotel is 1st class in every respect.
Fast check in and very friendly staff who offer you a map of the city as you check in.
All the staff are wonderful.Every one we came across from the housekeeping team to those at breakfast made our stay so very enjoyable.
The rooms are well maintained and if you can get a canal facing room it's worth the extra charge.
Would recommend it without hesitation.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for one night in April with our two teenaged kids. We only had one evening to see the city and we picked the perfect spot. This hotels provides modern amenities with a very charming exterior that fits right in. The location is literally perfection and the service was fantastic. We were able to walk out the back door and be in the center of everything.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Ghent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ghent Hotel

Address: Drabstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ghent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Marriott Ghent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Ghent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.