We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Ghent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Marriott Ghent Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Ghent Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drabstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Dallas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Be sure to get a room in the old section of this hotel, which is made up of 2 (3?) historic houses right on the canal and in the center of everything you would want to see in Ghent. It's around the corner from the Castle of the Counts and 5 minutes from St. Bavo's Cathedral. The room was large, with a wooden floor. Three stairs went down to the room from the entryway/bar/bathroom area. You look right out on the canal from the small, ancient windows and I can imagine that it would be noisy if there is a celebration going on like the one they were preparing for while we were there. The bed was comfy and the amenities were good, although the shower was one of those half-door, weak water pressure ones. Front desk service was very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

978 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    623
    293
    45
    10
    7
See reviews for
177
462
39
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Superb location on the canal surrounded by restaurants which spill out onto the cobbled pavements.
Friendly, helpful staff and amazingly comfy pillows make for a very pleasant stay. I cannot comment on the food as we did not eat here, but the bar area within the impressively designed lobby area was very appealing indeed.
Ghent is a well kept secret full of stunning photo opportunities, charm and history. My only regret is that we were not able to stay for longer than one night.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal would be attractive but not during the annual Music Festival 19-21 July unless...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WAREMME
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I booked the junior suite Nr 239, if you can get, go for it, see pictures.We could park our car in teh hotel parking(prebooking) and we checked in, the staff took the time to explain us what we could visit , how we could get some rebate, adviced some restaurant, the room was fantastic with a very nice view towards the "canal" and old houses.Brekfast was excelent and what we found very good is that you can choose between three breakfast with different prices. the hall is very big with a very nice bar.Next time we go to Gent we will book this hotel again

Room Tip: Room 239 with view on the canal is a great experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The hotel has everything you could want. Great location. Professional service. Fun Bar downstairs to watch the World Cup final. Comfortable bed. For an ancient charming city like Ghent, the hotel feels like you could be at a Marriott anywhere in the world and not in Ghent. That may not be a bad thing. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The hotel is conveniently located, just by the bank of the river and at walking distance from shops, restaurants and main historic sites; making it easy to make the most of your stay stress free (no need for a car!). Rating: 5/5

The hotel lobby mixes old and new with a nice swag; we liked the spacious and airy conservatory feel.

The front office staffs were very kind and professional. This is not a criticism but they need just be a little bit more commercial. Rating: 4/5

I'd be less enthusiastic about the restaurant staffs that don't come as warm. They seem estranged to the concept of “don’t stress the customer”. Mind you there were simply doing their job, a good job though: the place was clean, service was prompt (maybe because they were desperate to close breakfast serving), food presentation was appealing… just a lack of warmth and flexibility (robot like?). Rating: 3/5

The Suite was not quite what you'd expect in this hotel category. On the positive side, it has a apartment-like feel; offering a mix of rustic style, with nicely cut floorboard making a subtle crunchy noise when walking, and contemporary furnishing. Medieval modern - if that makes sense. On the downside the overall attempt lacks the luxury touch one is accustomed to from a 5* hotel. The bed was not comfortable either. The biggest deco drawback is the cheap bathroom: awfully deceptive for a suite. Rating: 3/5

Cleanliness is a virtue the housekeeping has still a lot to learn about. On returning from a long day out, we came back to a suite were the room had not been cleaned but left as if it had. Let me explain: we knew housekeeping came in because they brought some chocolate and left them by the bed. Also, the used bath linen had been removed from the bathroom and cleaned ones (??) had been brought in; the bin in the bathroom had been emptied but that in the living room was left full; etc. But the worst is that the bed was not made and to mask it, the duvet had been nicely laid over!!! How dishonest! Naughty, naughty.. Rating: 0/5

As a goodwill gesture, we were upgraded to the presidential suite (I'd call it an executive suite to manage expectation). A bit more spacious with a more comfortable bed but the same cheap bathroom and no air conditioning! Rating: 4/5

So what should have been a nice relaxing weekend turns out to be a mixed feeling experience. Disappointing, particularly because this is the second time it happens to us in a Marriott (i.e. not making the bed; mendacious attitude).

If this is a service a guest staying in a suite gets, I wouldn’t want to experience the standard room service.

On this occasion, and for the price paid, I am afraid it was unacceptable service.
I am not sure that at the same price, I’d like to risk another stay… But try it for yourself; with chance, it could be a very nice experience.

Room Tip: Jr Suite are spacious enough and have a better view than the (normal) suite which as no view - or ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent Marriott H, Front Office Manager at Marriott Ghent Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs.,

Thank you for taking the time you took by sharing your experience with the Ghent Marriott Hotel. I apologize that your recent stay was not completely satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Kindest regards,
Valerie V
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in a deluxe room, 212. We arrived early and the room wasn’t ready as yet, so we left our bags with reception and were given a map to explore.
The hotel is on the river in a lovely old building. Unsure when it was built, but is was originally the “pleasure house”. Unknown when it changed to a hotel.
The room was of a very good size consisting of a king size bed which was very comfortable, 2 arm chairs, coffee table, writing desk, tv and an empty mini bar for you so you can purchase your own goods either from a supermarket or at reception. There is a fridge where you can select drinks and ice cream. I think this is a good idea for hotels as I am sure they lose a lot of money on mini bars. The wardrobe was a very good size with plenty of hangers, shelves and drawers in the robe and in the room. There was only one robe and no slippers. We rang housekeeping and this was rectified.
The bathroom was a bit too small. The shower is over the bath, water nice and hot and good pressure. A single vanity and toilet. I say the bathroom being a bit small was due to poor design. When you get out of the shower, you either need to move further into the room or close the door. Cannot have both.
The room was very clean, the bathroom was probably the cleanest on our trip. By this, I mean the silicon around the bath was absent of mould, but the grout on some of the tiles needed a harsher clean.
Breakfast was not included in our price, but we had breakfast here anyway. Is is located in the restaurant and the room can be quite warm. It faces the river, so you can open the windows and it is really nice. I felt this was the worst breakfast I have ever had at a Marriott Hotel. It consisted of juices, water, breads, pastries, fruits, yogurts and hot food. You can order an omelette as we did on the second day, but mine was not cooked through. I like to have a glass of water in the morning and only a small bit left in the bottle. The scrambled eggs were so runny, they looked half raw – I did not touch them, though Steve did, took a couple of bites and pushed them aside. The toaster does not toast your bread, it dries it out. A new toaster is required. Service here was a bit slap dash.
The hotel is in an excellent location, with restaurants and shops very close by. Ghent is walking city, no need for a car or to catch a tram, everything is so close.
Note: if you are driving here, the address of the hotel is different to what is on the website. The website address takes you to the bridge. I would suggest you get the correct address for your gps.
I would recommend this hotel if you are coming to Ghent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

The hotel it's located in front of the historical centre, with great views across the channel.
It has it's own parking which it's critical if you arrive by car
Rooms and bathroom are big and well furnished.
Nice staff.
Overall a great choice to stay in Ghent

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Ghent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ghent Hotel

Address: Drabstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Family Hotel in Ghent
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ghent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Ghent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Ghent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.