We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in the middle of everything” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Ghent Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Ghent Hotel to your Saves list
Marriott Ghent Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Drabstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Olen, Belgium
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Right in the middle of everything”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

What a great location - you step out the door and are in the middle of Ghent - everything is in walking distance - just a few meters and you can sit next to the canal (if the sun is shining).

The hotel is up to the standard you would expect from a Marriott - good bed, good breakfast buffet, nice bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    714
    376
    53
    16
    11
See reviews for
216
542
44
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roeselare
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for one night, in a corner suite on the second floor.
The large interior was clean but not modern (yellow carpet and sofa, blue chairs, wooden paneling...).
The bathroom was spacious and very clean.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was outstanding! Almost everything you can imagine, was available.
Perfect location to explore the city!

Room Tip: If you want a nice view, ask for a room at the side of the 'Korenlei'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Bed was fabulous- so comfortable! Really nice breakfast included. Location is perfect-walk out door onto main canal with lots of people watching and great shops. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, especially Stephanie, Rosa, and Dietz (the doorman). They have hotel bikes you can use.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the canal have the only views, and the view is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
193 helpful votes 193 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We had planned to spend two nights in Ghent but left early after realizing we could see the main sights in Ghent in a day and a half. The hotel was a nice, clean, average Marriott with staff who were clearly well-trained and doing their best to please their guests. The initial room we received was so dark and small it was truly claustrophobic, They were able to move us to a slightly larger, lighter deluxe king room which was fine for an overnight. In all fairness, they were heavily booked with a convention and had very limited options for room choice. We are used to smaller European rooms, but having booked a king deluxe we expected something larger than the first room assigned. The staff tried their best to find a better room which we do appreciate and we do not fault them for the confusion about our room preference.

The bed was comfortable, bath clean if a bit dated, and furnishings a bit dark and drab. I rate the hotel average/adequate and am frankly surprised by the number of 4 and 5-ratings it receives. I suppose expectations vary, but we do stay in a lot of Marriots and I just don't see the charm of this particular one. It is terrifically convenient to the old center and walking distance to the center sights, but average in all other respects.

A word of caution for those driving to the Ghent Marriott: The hotel is extremely difficult to locate using GPS with the address listed on their website. The address you MUST USE TO ARRIVE AT THE HOTEL ENTRANCE is Poel 5. If you use the published address you will arrive at the pedestrian area of the city where no stopping/parking is possible. They do offer on-site parking for 26-Euro per 24-hours if you arrive at the Poel street address.

Ghent itself was a delightful way to spend an afternoon or two. Be sure to see the Gravensteen Castle and St. Baaf's both of which are truly worth your time.

Room Tip: If arriving by car using GPS be sure to use the Poel 5 address NOT the mailing address listed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
'Nige
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

A pleasant stay at this hotel. Clean room, good breakfast choice, nice lobby and bar area. Friendly and helpful staff on check-in.

Very central location with numerous bars, restaurants and attractions within a few minutes walk.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Ghent Marriott is a 5 star hotel. It is located in the heart of old town Ghent and when you walk out the back door of the hotel to the view of the canal with the century's old city as a backdrop you will literately be transported back in time. The staff was very attentive, friendly and for those of you like me, who failed to learn any Flemish at all - they speak fluent English. The rooms are large with a seating area and the beds were very comfortable, Lots of storage space, free wifi and plenty of power outlets for your electronics. The only negative is that if you want a room with a view of the canal you will need to spring for a more expensive room- but you are not in your room long enough to notice. You should also go ahead and purchase the breakfast each day as well- it offers a great buffet style service with many, many foods to choose from, as well as cook to order breakfast if you desire. If you are brave enough to try , the hotel has bicycle rentals for you to try to act as a local as well. Local sights, a large variety of restaurants, and access to the local tram service is less than a 5 minute walk in any direction. The hotel restaurant also has a outside seating area overlooking the canal to hang out, have a glass of wine ( or one Belgium's many brews) to people watch, stare at the beauty and relax. Ghent was our favorite place in Belgium to visit out of the 5 cities we visited. Had we stayed at another hotel I just do not believe we would have had the same experience- I came home relaxed and believing in dragons..so will you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I chose this hotel when planning to propose to my now fiancée having never visited Ghent before. I emailed the hotel prior to my booking to explain my plans and the staff could not have been more helpful. When we arrived they knew exactly who I was and what I was planning and they helped me every step of the way. They helped with the timings and had champagne waiting in the room for us when we came back from dinner. They helped with places to visit, where to park the car, where to eat etc.
The hotel itself was clean and well presented and the room was excellent with a beautiful view over the river. Conveniently located in the centre and close to all of the main attractions I'm very glad I picked this hotel and very grateful to all the staff for their help.
Would definitely stay here again and might just make it a surprise again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Ghent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Ghent Hotel

Address: Drabstraat, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Ghent
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Business Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott Ghent Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Marriott, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott Ghent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Ghent
Ghent Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Ghent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.