We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable budget accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flandria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Flandria Hotel to your Saves list
Flandria Hotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Barrestraat 3, Ghent B-9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Comfortable budget accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Located close to the centre of the old town this hotel is a converted old building. Accommodation is simple and kept in good order.

We received a friendly welcome and beds were comfortable with good linen.

Breakfast was continental (reasonable extra charge). As a budget hotel this met our needs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights, the hotel is just behind the cathedral so within easy access of the centre. However it was down a quiet street so noise isn't a problem! Very comfortable room, good wi-fi, basic breakfast and friendly staff who gave us great restaurant recommendations.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Beaujingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a lovely experience in this hotel, it was cosy and the room was extremely nice, the colours made it very comforting and they had good showers! The staff smiled and were very friendly. Great location!! We are actually visiting it again next week as it was that good!!

No.1 place to stay in Ghent, very affordable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roberttaylorcreative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level Contributor
60 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This small Hotel is perfectly located, 3 minutes’ walk from the Saint Bavo Cathedral and less than 15 minutes from the Dampoort train station (this is important to say, because for some mysterious reason most of the guides only mention the “central” station, which is not central at all, being 2.5 km far from the town centre). In spite of its location, the hotel is very quiet. Our room (217), a double with private bathroom, was clean, a bit small but not uncomfortable (nothing luxury, of course: this is a budget, little hotel). A little warning about the automatic light of the bathroom: when someone is alone, having a shower behind the curtain, the motion sensor doesn’t detect anyone, so that after some time the light turns off and you find yourself in the dark; no problem: it is sufficient to move the curtain or stick an arm out and the light turns on again.
The buffet breakfast is not first class, of course, but more than adequate considering the category of the hotel. The free Wi-Fi connection is good near the reception, a bit weak in the rooms. A water dispenser is available for free in the reception area. Finally, be aware that the hotel has no elevator. For 70 € per night, very good value for money in beautiful Ghent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just got back from celebrating New Year in beautiful Gent. Hotel tucked away just off the main square, on a cobbled narrow street. A quiet haven. Huge double bed , immensely clean, and the sheets and towels replaced daily. We had the most gorgeous view, a basin in the room and an enormous antique wardrobe with mirror. They were so helpful, lending hairdryer, and plug adaptor. Breakfast continental, but fresh and lovely. Perfect base for exploring a beautiful city, which was incredibly affluent and I preferred it to Bruges. Don't come expecting 5 star but some lovely touches, Free wifi, tv in the room, the shared showers were hot and immaculately clean, stairs were a bit steep up to the 2 floor but our view (of the cathedral) was worth it. Double windows, so light and airy and we would definitely come again. There are a lot more beers to try!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fifiwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We were a group of 3 travelling together for the Christmas Markets in Ghent. This hotel was a great price - we stayed in a 3 person room and only paid 70 Euros each for two nights inc breakfast. There are rooms with shared bathroom facilities but we wanted a private bathroom. The room was large with a pretty view across the rooftops to the cathedral tower. Although it faced onto the street it was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. The hotel staff communicated very well and booked a taxi to pick us up from where our coach dropped us on the outskirts of Ghent. There was no tea making equipment in the room when we arrived (terrible for British travellers!) but the staff were very accomodating and brought us up the necessary equipment as soon as we phoned down. Although 'extras' such as this and hairdryers etc weren't in the room, there was a sign by reception to say that you just had to ask - even for an umbrella! The hotel was very well situated only a few minutes walk from the beautiful cathedral and all the Christmas Markets. There are a couple of reasons why this hotel didn't get 5 stars: Firstly I had requested a ground floor room as there is no lift and one of our number have mobility problems, but on arrival we found we had a room on the first floor. We decided not to ask to be moved as it was a nice room and my fellow traveller said that she would manage. Secondly, I would say that the breakfast is a little basic - no fruit or pastries. However, for the price it was perfectly adequate. I would definitely stay at this hotel again as it offers good accomodation, well priced, in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have mobility problems as there is no lift and the stairs are ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolmin, Slovenia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel looked like a youth hostel. Room is very small with the shared bathroom. Because of this maybe the price is to high. Positive side is that it is close to the centre of Gent. I stayed there two nights. The equipment of the room is very modest and with two beds inside it was practically impossible to move.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trepous T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ghent hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum St-Baafs Kathedraal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cathedral
Hotel Cathedral
#16 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Gent Belfort
NH Gent Belfort
#8 of 39 in Ghent
4.0 of 5 stars 1,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Gent Centrum Opera
0.4 mi away
Marriott Ghent Hotel
0.6 mi away
Sandton Grand Hotel Reylof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flandria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flandria Hotel

Address: Barrestraat 3, Ghent B-9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 39 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:1 star — Flandria Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Budget Places, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Flandria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandria Hotel Ghent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing