We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable budget accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Flandria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Flandria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Flandria Hotel
Barrestraat 3, Ghent B-9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Comfortable budget accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Located close to the centre of the old town this hotel is a converted old building. Accommodation is simple and kept in good order.

We received a friendly welcome and beds were comfortable with good linen.

Breakfast was continental (reasonable extra charge). As a budget hotel this met our needs.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    40
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
10
41
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We stayed here for a couple of nights, the hotel is just behind the cathedral so within easy access of the centre. However it was down a quiet street so noise isn't a problem! Very comfortable room, good wi-fi, basic breakfast and friendly staff who gave us great restaurant recommendations.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a lovely experience in this hotel, it was cosy and the room was extremely nice, the colours made it very comforting and they had good showers! The staff smiled and were very friendly. Great location!! We are actually visiting it again next week as it was that good!!

No.1 place to stay in Ghent, very affordable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

This small Hotel is perfectly located, 3 minutes’ walk from the Saint Bavo Cathedral and less than 15 minutes from the Dampoort train station (this is important to say, because for some mysterious reason most of the guides only mention the “central” station, which is not central at all, being 2.5 km far from the town centre). In spite of its location, the hotel is very quiet. Our room (217), a double with private bathroom, was clean, a bit small but not uncomfortable (nothing luxury, of course: this is a budget, little hotel). A little warning about the automatic light of the bathroom: when someone is alone, having a shower behind the curtain, the motion sensor doesn’t detect anyone, so that after some time the light turns off and you find yourself in the dark; no problem: it is sufficient to move the curtain or stick an arm out and the light turns on again.
The buffet breakfast is not first class, of course, but more than adequate considering the category of the hotel. The free Wi-Fi connection is good near the reception, a bit weak in the rooms. A water dispenser is available for free in the reception area. Finally, be aware that the hotel has no elevator. For 70 € per night, very good value for money in beautiful Ghent.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just got back from celebrating New Year in beautiful Gent. Hotel tucked away just off the main square, on a cobbled narrow street. A quiet haven. Huge double bed , immensely clean, and the sheets and towels replaced daily. We had the most gorgeous view, a basin in the room and an enormous antique wardrobe with mirror. They were so helpful, lending hairdryer, and plug adaptor. Breakfast continental, but fresh and lovely. Perfect base for exploring a beautiful city, which was incredibly affluent and I preferred it to Bruges. Don't come expecting 5 star but some lovely touches, Free wifi, tv in the room, the shared showers were hot and immaculately clean, stairs were a bit steep up to the 2 floor but our view (of the cathedral) was worth it. Double windows, so light and airy and we would definitely come again. There are a lot more beers to try!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We were a group of 3 travelling together for the Christmas Markets in Ghent. This hotel was a great price - we stayed in a 3 person room and only paid 70 Euros each for two nights inc breakfast. There are rooms with shared bathroom facilities but we wanted a private bathroom. The room was large with a pretty view across the rooftops to the cathedral tower. Although it faced onto the street it was very quiet. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. The hotel staff communicated very well and booked a taxi to pick us up from where our coach dropped us on the outskirts of Ghent. There was no tea making equipment in the room when we arrived (terrible for British travellers!) but the staff were very accomodating and brought us up the necessary equipment as soon as we phoned down. Although 'extras' such as this and hairdryers etc weren't in the room, there was a sign by reception to say that you just had to ask - even for an umbrella! The hotel was very well situated only a few minutes walk from the beautiful cathedral and all the Christmas Markets. There are a couple of reasons why this hotel didn't get 5 stars: Firstly I had requested a ground floor room as there is no lift and one of our number have mobility problems, but on arrival we found we had a room on the first floor. We decided not to ask to be moved as it was a nice room and my fellow traveller said that she would manage. Secondly, I would say that the breakfast is a little basic - no fruit or pastries. However, for the price it was perfectly adequate. I would definitely stay at this hotel again as it offers good accomodation, well priced, in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have mobility problems as there is no lift and the stairs are ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tolmin, Slovenia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel looked like a youth hostel. Room is very small with the shared bathroom. Because of this maybe the price is to high. Positive side is that it is close to the centre of Gent. I stayed there two nights. The equipment of the room is very modest and with two beds inside it was practically impossible to move.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Flandria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flandria Hotel

Address: Barrestraat 3, Ghent B-9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Budget Places and Odigeo so you can book your Flandria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flandria Hotel Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flandria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.