We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, very handy for travelers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Carlton to your Saves list
Hotel Carlton
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Koningin Astridlaan 138, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Porto, Portugal
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel, very handy for travelers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The first thing I would highlight is the friendliness of the owners of the hotel. Very welcoming and always ready to help your stay. Then, it has a nice price/quality ratio, because it has very large rooms and bathrooms, but prices are not that high. Breakfast is also good, not in much quantity, but with good quality.
Very close to the main train/bus station in Gent and, even though it is not so close to the center, in 5 minutes by tram or 30 minutes on foot you arrive to lovely Gent center (Graslei).
I really recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    55
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
96
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This hotel was our last stop on a 2 week road trip round Europe and it opened my eyes to how great service can make a place. The brothers who own the place and the staff they employ are so ahead of the game in making you feel welcome it is unbelievable (not to mention their great sense of humour). The room was the biggest we stayed in over 2 weeks with a rate to match the others in accessibility to those on a budget. It's location near the station means that there is a tram stop round the corner to take you into the centre in about 7 minutes - tickets from reception. I wouldn't consider any other place if going back to Ghent.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Service is the watchword for the guys running this hotel - and they deliver brilliantly. The rooms are spacious and tastefully modern, and the location is extremely convenient for the tram into town (10 mins) and the main station (2 min walk). Truly great value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Do not be put off by the street view of this charming hotel the service is superb and the interior design is as good as many £300 + hotels in London.The 3 brothers add real quality and friendship to your stay.Nothing is to much in the way of service from these young men and you can gain excellent information about Ghent to make your trip real special.

It's a real gem and worth a visit.We had asked for bike rental which was sorted out as requested with no hick-ups whatsoever.

The location is only a 10 minute tram ride into Ghent city center and the main station and tram stops are less than 5 minute walk from the hotel.

These guys are really refreshing in the way they treat there guests and we will certainly be back.

Thanks again

Paul /Hills and the "PORT" team

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Hospitality is the key word that this hotel excels in. Steven Jeffery and Davy (the owners) make this hotel a great place to stay, friendly and accommodating they made our stay a pleasant first time visit to Gent, great location with local restaurants and bars and also a short tram ride to Gent centre. And thank you Steven for driving me to a pharmacy on a bank holiday when my son needed some cold medication. Hospitality....Cheers Guys...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a great time at Hotel Carlton for our visit to beautiful Ghent. Jeffrey and his staff could not have done any more to make us welcome. The room was clean and a generous size with tv and tea/coffee making facilities. Breakfast was great - hot and cold in one. All in all, for the price paid, best hotel in Ghent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived in Ghent we were treated as special vistors to this city and leading the way were the brothers and other staff of this special hotel.The assistance in getting around their great city, the breakfasts, the room and the reception were all of a high standard. Just a short walk from the train station this hotel is situated near everything that we needed - public transport, cafes and restaurants and tourists spots. The reception area is welcoming and comfortable and the room we stayed in was superb. Next time we hope to stay in the 6th floor suite as this was such a delight (as shown to us!). These brothers love aht they are doing and all strength to them in making this small hotel a paradise for travellers like us.

Room Tip: The 6th floor suite is the gem but we suspect you have to book well in advance to be successful. But...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: Koningin Astridlaan 138, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#2 Business Hotel in Ghent
#2 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will really feel at home in this charming city center located Carlton Hotel Ghent, the ideal spot to recharge your batteries during a trip in search of historical places or an exploration of the Ghent nightlife. This friendly and cosily designed family hotel in Ghent will treat you in the morning to an extensive and varied breakfast and is always ready to advise you on how best to discover our city. The Carlton Hotel Ghent is situated in a residential area of Ghent and is only 100 metres from Ghent St Pieters Station. The central location, the convenient access and the private car park make this family hotel the ideal base for both tourists and businesspeople. Carlton Hotel Ghent offers comfortable and elegantly decorated hotel rooms with television, radio, telephone and minibar. All Carlton Hotel Ghent rooms have an en-suite bathroom with bath. There are various tram connections to the old city centre and the business zones, and there is also now a direct tram connection to Flanders Expo. 3 hotel star Carlton Hotel Ghent is located directly next to the ICC International Convention Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Carlton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.