We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing view and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Harmony to your Saves list
Hotel Harmony
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€20 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
New Delhi/London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing view and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at Harmony for 1 night during our trip in Belgium. The hotel is located very close to the main square and right by the canals. Our rooms were pretty spacious compared to most of the European hotels and were very modern. The breakfast was awesome. Highly recommend this hotel as it is definitely value for money and a very comfortable stay. The hotel even allowed us a late check out around 4pm without any fuss.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    159
    18
    6
    1
See reviews for
62
340
23
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

A fabulous hotel, friendly and welcoming staff.
The hotel is arranged in two halves, the main hotel and also there are rooms at the rear. To access the rooms at the rear you have to exit the back door and walk across a small courtyard. This is not a problem as the rooms are well equipped and super comfy.
Breakfast was excellent.
If you want to use the hotel parking you will need to book in advance.
We parked in the Vrijdagmarkt parking lot, it cost 10€ for 24 hrs.
Book this hotel with confidence.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Visited Ghent for our annual European Christmas shopping trip. Stayed at Hotel Harmony. Great central base. Staff very friendly and efficient. Nothing too much trouble. Room lovely with fabulous views over the canal. Breakfast excellent. Perfect place to stay for a five day break. Hospitality first class.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We stayed here our 1st night in Belgium.. It lives up to all positive reviews! It was my birthday the day we stayed here. After we checked into the room and went out for our first stroll around town, we were delighted to come back to the room and find it decorated with confetti, robes for our personal use and a complimentary bottle of champagne! What a treat!

In addition, I believe they also upgraded us to a canal front room. I clearly remember not booking the canal front due to cost. Reception staff were all pleasant, attentive and very helpful with directions. Breakfast was plentiful.. This is a great location for exploring the city and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had room 31, on the third floor, which comes with a balcony. The views are great, the room itself as well. Clean, comfortable, and quiet, but very centrally located. Breakfast is marvellous. They have a private parking underneath the building: leave your bags in the car, as there is a lift from the garage to the rooms. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms 30 and 31 share a balcony with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

The hotel is in the perfect location for visiting Gent. The staff is very friendly and the rooms are fantastic. It is not so easy to check in if you are travelling by car, because the hotel is located in a narrow street and it is not so easy to stop in the front of the hotel, but if you'll pass the hotel and go left and another left 200m later into even smaller, medieval, streets, you will find the entrance to the car park. Parking the car is 15€ a night, it is a lot cheaper in the nearby car parks, of cause.

The room explanation of the hotel stated that their is a Nespresso machine in the room. That's not true, it is another system and therefore you cannot use Nespresso capsules (I took some with me).

The room itself was spacy and had a nice terrace with view to the medieval city center of Gent. The bathroom was big enough, but is devided from the main room by a milkglas door, which not everyone likes.

As I got sick on my trip and did not get around much (but stayed mostly 2 days in the room) I will have to visit Gent once again and I exactly know where I will be staying.

Nothing else to tell, I was very pleased with this hotel. That's why it gets 5 stars from me (first time I did that).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
229 helpful votes 229 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Situated on the canal side a short walk from the city centre. Our room at the back of the hotel had a small terrace and overlooked a quiet back street (rooms at the front overlook the canal). Room was large and stylishly decorated - bathroom had a large jacuzzi bath.

Staff were friendly and check in was efficient. There is a small secure underground car park as part of the hotel. There isn't much space though.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the room rate.

The price felt a bit high when we booked but the hotel was excellent and we got a good nights sleep.

Ghent has some pretty canal side sights but there isn't a huge amount to do and one night there was enough for us.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have the view - rooms at the rearer are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#4 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers unique rooms in 2 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool and is 10 minutes’ walk from St Bavo’s Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harmony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.