We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but rather wonderful, a hidden gem.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Harmony

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Harmony to your Saves list
Hotel Harmony
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
€20 off room rate
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Small but rather wonderful, a hidden gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I only stayed one night but everything about this delightful establishment was memorable. The staff are friendly, helpful and smiling, the room was stylish, tasteful and charming. The location superb, the views excellent, so close to so much history. To step outside and see the Counts Castle is awesome. Local restaurants of all types abound, and the breakfast service was excellent in the hotel, they made me superb eggs and bacon without demur. I'm very grateful to my contacts who recommended it.
I was on business and its so nice to find a relaxing hotel where function is almost secondary to style, and I'm thinking of taking my wife there as I know she will be blown away by it. (Or maybe I should take my girlfriend..hmmm)

Room Tip: They're all good from what I can tell, and all different which makes a pleasant change!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    173
    20
    7
    1
See reviews for
68
380
24
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel harmony 2 nights before new year. The reception staff were welcoming and friendly. As it was our anniversary they laid out rose petals, a rose on the bed and dressing gowns. The room was very spacious, stylish and quite. The bathroom was large with a lovely jacuzzi bath.

Breakfast was in a nice room with the usual european cold breakfast buffet. But you could order fresh omelettes and pancakes, so who can grumble at that.

Overall, a must stay.

Oh and Ghent is the stylish Brugges. Absolutely gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

It is a lovely hotel with a fantastic location. Room (21) was a very high standard and the two staff on duty were polite and efficient. Tapas at the bar and a drink was a nice touch.
The car park is underground and very small for an estate car, but we did it after much backwards and forwards. Bathroom of Hotel was impressive, but why do they give you such a small bar of soap, in all hotels actually.
Ghent is OK, for us we liked Brugges more , a trip late last year.

Room Tip: Take a room at the front of the Hotel for a view of the old Town
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Hotel Harmony is one of the most charming hotels in the city of Ghent. Harmony has a great eye for detail, wich you will undoubtedly experience in every room. Each room has it's own style and character! It is the ideal choice for a romantic weekend or a week in combination with a visit to the old town center with its many shops and cosy dining. The hotel is located right in the heart of the center so that all concerns regarding transportation can be left home. Completely total relax. Just fantastic! I love it there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We have had a wonderful stay in this hotel. Our room very tastefully decorated, good bed, very nice bath. Breakfast very good. Staff extremely polite, helpful and knowledgable. The city of Gent is a very old and beautifully restored city. Lots of good restaurants. The STAM museum is a good choice to start your exploration of the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

A lovely hotel with spacious rooms ( we had Room 12) modern bathroom and enough room for the staff to add a full size extra bed for our 20 yr old daughter. Breakfast was very nice with a good choice and great scrambled eggs. Right in the thick of the old town, a short walk to the center and the xmas markets, it has a wonderful location. On site parking which you need to book and a heated outside pool in summer, and a bar. Easy to find with sat nav and not too tricky to navigate to through the old streets. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Hotel Harmony is in the middle of it all in Ghent, yet quiet and charming. The room we had overlooked the water, had a HUGE bath and room area. The room was so nice we almost did not want to leave to enjoy the city. Tapas and happy hour were nice, breakfast was wonderful. Service was perfect.

Room Tip: Upgrade to have a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Harmony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Harmony

Address: Kraanlei 37, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
#3 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#4 Business Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Harmony 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxurious family-run hotel in the Patershol suburb of Gent offers unique rooms in 2 historic buildings. Harmony benefits from a swimming pool and is 10 minutes’ walk from St Bavo’s Cathedral.Each of the rooms at Hotel Harmony feature warm décor, modern bathrooms and some rooms have views of the oldest parts of the city. The air-conditioned rooms also boast satellite TV, a work desk and a minibar.The elegant lounge features dark-wood décor and serves drinks including wines and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Harmony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Harmony, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.