We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, customer experience not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Flandre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Flandre to your Saves list
Hotel de Flandre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Winter Package @ �109
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Faversham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good location, customer experience not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We stayed for a mid-week short break and were allocated room 4 which is on the ground floor at the rear of the building across a courtyard. The room was quiet, very spacious and comfortable although rather dark. Bathrobes, slippers and plentiful toiletries were supplied.

I liked having a kettle and choice of teas etc which were replenished daily. If you want an alcoholic drink I suggest you look at the prices on the minibar menu first and then do as we did, buy your drinks from the hotel bar and take them back to your room or sit in the courtyard.

Our room backed onto a small courtyard (light well) that was shared with another room, there was a small table for our use; and also what looked like a bit of old carpet (my husband said it was a doormat) chucked in the corner. How odd and how ugly! Had no-one on the staff noticed it and thought to move it?

I can't comment on the breakfast as we had breakfast out at a small coffee bar nearby which was a lot less expensive.

Here is the really odd bit: I found the reception staff very friendly and helpful but they (or rather one of them in particular) was very argumentative and rude to my husband about parking. He arrived by motorbike and could find nowhere to park it (motorbikes are not allowed in the underground car parks), so asked reception for advice. This advice seemed to be, there is nowhere so you'll have to get a parking ticket and appeal it (?!), which he wasn't willing to do. Having parked illegally we set off to find somewhere for dinner and walked past free designated motorcycle parking near the hotel. So that solved the problem. However as my husband was checking out, the same receptionist began the parking discussion/argument again!

I realise the reception staff get asked all sorts of questions and can't be expected to know everything, but if you don't know (and it's a reasonable question), please either try to find out the answer or say you don't know. Misinformation and/or rudeness have no place in customer service.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear FavershamHector,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Hotel de Flandre. I appreciate all your feedback as we continuously strive to improve and better our hotel and services. I am happy to hear overall you had a great stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel, as well as our our attentive staff. I do apologize for the small hiccups you experienced as this is certainly not the norm here. We will discuss these issues with the entire team to avoid issues like this in the future. I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,
Kristel Cauterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    128
    51
    26
    17
See reviews for
29
145
9
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This is one of the very few hotels we had not stayed in before in Ghent so we thought it was worth a go. You can park in the St Michaels garage for 11 euros a night which is very reasonable for Ghent. Very nice quiet room. Cannot comment on breakfast as we were room only. Quite a small dining room but perfectly adequate. Small outside seating area which had annex rooms off it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Patmar58,

Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your feedback. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay and that you enjoyed the room and its location. I hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you once again in the near future.

Best regards,
Kristel Cauterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I had booked my room for one night on a business trip to Belgium.
I arrived at the hotel at around 1.00 p.m.
Strangely at the reception I have been told that the room was available only after 3.00 p.m., as this was the hotel policy, "even mentioned on the voucher". A part that on the voucher NOTHING was mentioned, I found it really rude and unpleasant from the hotel, as I had the feeling that the hotel was not so full and they could have given the room at any time. Nevertheless, I had to spend two hours walking around the city, waiting for the right time to get the room.
Not too bad, but not too hospital...

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Filippo L,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I'm happy to hear overall your had a great stay. Check-in time is after 3pm but please note that we do our utmost to accommodate an early arrival as soon as possible. If you want to guarantee that your room is available before 3pm, we advise booking the room one day in advance. This way your room is already blocked the night before you arrive, so that check-in is guaranteed before 3pm.

Best regards,
Kristel Cauterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lydd, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a number of times as the company I work for use it. The location is great for exploring the city centre and it's many bars and restaurants. The rooms are reasonably well equipped and adequately maintained but I prefer the ones in the rear annexe than the main house which also have the advantage of you not having to wait for the dreadful old lift! The hotel has a quiet but nice bar but no restaurant for evening meals, only breakfast (which is delicious by the way).

On balance, the hotel is a decent enough place to stay but I have had some issues, particularly around the availability of airco and reliability of the same. However, the staff have always been most helpful.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the annexe of the main hotel or, failing that, the annexe across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Jonathan D,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel de Flandre again, and for sharing your feedback.
I also would like to inform you that we can take your room preference into account, Just let our reception team know, and we will have your preference noted in your profile. We look forward to any upcoming visits, and please do not hesitate to reach out if we can assist with any plans.

Best regards,
Kristel Cauterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I stayed in this hotel for four nights with my family. For a couple the rooms are spacious, for a couple with two children, the room seemed rather small. The hotel has two separate areas, I stayed in the main section and have no complaints other than the elevator being slow, which is a good excuse to get a little exercise walking up to the fourth floor. While expensive (20 Euros) the breakfast is outstanding. The family was very excited to start our day off with a piece of Belgian Chocolate. The location is excellent, a mere two minute walk to the river where very nice dining options are available. This is my first visit to Ghent and the whole family thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would definitely stay here again on a return visit

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main area, as the other section is across the street,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear PwK-33,

Thank you for your response on your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you and your family had a great experience. It is always nice to hear that our guests enjoyed the hotel, its location as well as our breakfast buffet. Please let me know if you need any assistance on planning your next trip to Ghent.

Best regards,
Kristel Cauterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We enjoyed our stay here and found the hotel very convenient to the old areas of the city. The staff were helpful, and the rooms comfortable. Woulds stay there again
The offered breakfast, though good, was very expensive so I recommend buying a few things at the grocery store across the street..

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear butternut70,

Thank you for choosing Hotel de Flandre and for sharing your experience. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's location. Please let me know if I can help assist with any future plans.

Best regards,
Kristel Cauterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the hotel for one night. The room we were given was. The main building. Put when we entered the room, we heard that the ventilation in the bathroom was running and could not be switched off. We went back to reception and were told that this is a security standard... never heard of such a thing. It got worse: she gave us an executive room in the annex. We room was ok, the building a few meters down the road and we did not mind that. At first we did not notice the ventilation notice from outside. However it woke us up at six in the morning. Next to the annex is a ventilation system from a restaurant .... 6 am and a noise which stops you from sleeping. We called reception and it could not be stopped. Who would build hotel rooms there and then not even make notice canceling room doors to prevent the noise. We had a terrible stay and at check out nobody even apologized or asked how our stay was. Terrible for a four star hotel!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HoteldeFlandre, Manager at Hotel de Flandre, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Kathrin80,

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations, in regards to the rooms. I do apologize for the inconveniece you experienced during your stay, and I would like to emphasize that this is certainly not the norm here. We are currently looking into the feedback you provided on the noise from the generator, and are looking to resolve this.
I would be happy to discuss your stay personally with you, and can be reached at kristel@hoteldeflandre.be.

Best regards,
Kristel Cauterman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Flandre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Flandre

Address: Poel 1 - 2, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Flandre 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the historic heart of Ghent, Hotel de Flandre provides tasteful guest rooms and a cozy lounge in a 19th-century building. The authentic halls with their grand staircases have a traditional charm and guests can unwind in the warmly decorated interior. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the city's main attractions. This hotel is the ideal accommodation for both business and pleasure. WiFI is available free of charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Flandre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Flandre Hotel
De Flandre Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Flandre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.