We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Base for Exploring Gent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Castelnou

Save Saved
You added Aparthotel Castelnou to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aparthotel Castelnou
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% OFF ! :Stay & CityCard
Ranked #5 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Odder, Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A Good Base for Exploring Gent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Clean, functional and spacious. Very friendly and helpful reception staff. A typical 'serviced appartment' which also means there isn't much charm - but again it has all you need for a couple of days' stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    107
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
49
147
6
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brookmans Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel was well situated, around a 15 minute walk to the historic centre. Staff friendly and helpful, room clean and tidy with daily maid service. Breakfast was include and was fine. Generally very pleased to be staying in an apartment since we had one very wet day where we stayed in during the afternoon to watch Tour de France on television! All UK TV freeview channels available incidentally.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I, plus our college-age daughter and son, took an 8 night trip to Belgium and the Netherlands in June 2014. We were in Ghent for the first day and night. We chose the Aparthotel Castlenou mainly for the price, but it turned out to be better than expected. It has a parking lot for €8/night which was ideal because we were travelling by car. Reserve parking ahead of arrival from their website.
Although it is not perfectly located (about 15-20 minute walk to the historic center), it was in a pleasant enough neighborhood that felt safe. The lobby is modern and clean and check-in was quick and easy. They provided us with a nice little visitors guide and map that was really handy.
We paid €94 each for two rooms, breakfast included – one double and one twin. Both rooms had a small kitchen and sitting area with a television and large window overlooking the neighborhood. Room 310 was the twin and more like a studio with everything in one room. Room 509 had a separate bedroom and was much larger than 310. I could imagine being comfortable there for several nights if you are staying in Ghent for a while. The furniture was IKEA-quality and the rooms were plainly decorated. Free Wi-Fi was available hotel-wide.
Breakfast was served in the on-premise restaurant, Dali. They had a buffet that was very typical of European hotels – juices, yogurt, cereal, toast, tea and coffee machine with tiny cups, cold cuts and cheese. But they also had scrambled eggs, which was a nice surprise – our best breakfast of the trip.

Room Tip: Reserve ahead if you want garage parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Ghent is a lovely city but the very things you go for, the historic centre and canals, can make it a bit of a nightmare for a driver. The Aparthotel Castelnou provides the answer. Close enough to walk into town, 15 mins or so mostly along a canal, but with plenty of parking available both on street and in the hotel’s garage. The staff speak excellent English and are very helpful. The room was spacious clean and modern. The kitchenette could have been very useful for those staying longer than our one night, but the Nespresso machine was an unexpected luxury. The hotel has a restaurant which we didn’t try but it looked good. The breakfast was excellent with a wide buffet choice including hot dishes. When we next visit Ghent we will definitely use this again.

Room Tip: They are all pretty much the same. We were on the street side and could not hear any traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Excellent stay for a five night holiday. Away from the hustle and bustle, but, close enough to make it a nice walk to the centre.
The room was fabulous, clean and minimalistic! Beds were very comfy.
The staff were very helpful and pleasant, especially Jacques, the barman, a really funny guy!
If you don't want the concerns of travelling by train etc on your arrival, ask the hotel to book a taxi from Nils..What a wonderful young man, very proud of his city, brilliant English and great sense of humour. 70 euros (there were four of us sharing the cost) for the trip to the Hotel. Do NOT let the hotel book a firm called (I think) Kimart! Our own fault as we left it too late to book Nils for our return. The receptionist was very helpful and organised the taxi, also telling us we could have an early breakfast. Unfortunately nobody seemed to have informed the breakfast lady, who at first was very surly, and quite rude, must have realised it was a misunderstanding, and was nothing more than apologetic and friendly. The taxi driver was ignorant, the only time he spoke was to confirm our airport! He then drove off in great haste, putting not one, but, two mobile phones on the dash board! He then continued to use them to make and receive calls, NO hands free, I may add, throughout the whole journey! The final straw was when the taxi was veering across the lanes, as he was texting!! My friend asked him to refrain from this and to try and keep his eyes on the road! This journey cost us 105 euros, as you can imagine, no tip was given!
Saying all that, I would definitely stay at this hotel again, they were professional at all times, and the incident above, was because WE failed to book a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rennes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

perfect hotel. Walking distance to historical city ( 20 min) but also to train station dampoort if you want to visit Brugge , Brussel oder Antwerp. Bus Station next to hotel for most interesting places.
WiFi good but you have to switch off aircon. Moskitos....

Room Tip: ask for backside if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed for four nights on a business trip. Good room rates and very friendly staff, close to city center and a lot of public transportations close to the hotel. Good but not great breakfast, missed out on veggies and youghurt. Very spacious rooms (apartments) with it´s own kitchen and separate bed room. Very clean and tidy.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotel.de, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Castelnou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.