We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aparthotel Castelnou

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aparthotel Castelnou to your Saves list
Aparthotel Castelnou
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% OFF ! :Stay & CityCard
Ranked #6 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Lancaster
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our second stay at the Castelnou. The first one was 30 years ago but standards have been maintained & in some respects improved (warmer, less 'corporate' décor and furniture, for example). A spacious, comfortable & attractive apartment was the ideal base to visit an attractive and underrated town. Reception staff were extremely cordial & helpful. Only disappointment was the performance of an unsympathetic & lazy waiter at dinner on the final night. We would certainly stay here again. Highly recommended for the independent traveller.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a good view over the town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    121
    15
    1
    3
See reviews for
53
158
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Walton-on-Thames, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were a family group of five with 3 standard rooms on an overnight stop to Amsterdam.
We did not know Ghent and were delighted to discover this beautiful town within comfortable walking distance of this hotel. We were happy to have good and secure parking, spotless accommodation, comfortable beds and an outstanding service from all the staff.
I left my I pod behind by mistake and had messages from the hotel immediately and the offer to return it to the UK by post: how exceptional is that?
We would all return to visit Ghent in more depth on a future occasion and would certainly not choose any other destination to stay than this Hotel. Thank you all for your legendary service!

Room Tip: we chose a standard room which was fine for overnight, more than adequate.For longer stays, the larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Lovely accommodation! Comfortable beds, lovely bedding and very clean - bliss. We visited as a family and had our own apartment very pleasantly appointed with everything you needed for a very enjoyable visit to Ghent. The staff, especially the lady on reception, we're friendly and helpful. Secure parking is available and the apartments are within a short walking distance to the town.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest of Dean, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Very good sleep quality in this hotel, stylish modern decor. The staff were very helpful and gave us advice about local transport. Breakfast was ok, nothing wonderful. The bar was good and plenty of space to sit in the lobby. The hotel is a short bus ride from the centre and a pleasant walk if the weather is good. We did not use the kitchen facilities but I can see that this is a great idea.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed for three nights on our way back from visiting friends in Germany. Hotel completely lived up to all expectations from previous Tripadvisor reviews. Loved the whole apartment / hotel concept! Good location, great food within the hotel; both at dinner and breakfast, friendly, helpful staff throughout (Helena on reception especially was instrumental in providing an excellent parking space in the underground garage), clean, comfortable. Just excellent! Will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We were in a second floor room (205), immediately diagonally opposite the lift, and overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton on Trent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

My husband and I stayed for one night whilst driving back to the UK from Austria, and we chose the Aparthotel Castelnou because of good reviews on TripAdvisor.

There was a friendly and efficient welcome from the receptionist when we arrived, and we were given a token for the underground car park and the key for our bedroom suite. Comfortable and warm room, nicely decorated and equipped with a kitchenette, plus a well-appointed bathroom which, although small, was well designed with a power-shower over the bath.

The twin beds were comfortable with quality bedding, and we slept well as the room was quiet because it overlooked the rear garden.

The hotel is ten minutes' walk from the city centre, where there are plenty of bars and restaurants. However, my husband chose to dine in the hotel's restaurant and said his meal was good although a bit expensive. He also enjoyed sampling two local beers!

Breakfast the following morning was plentiful, the dining-room was clean and the staff were efficient.

To sum up, perfect for an overnight stop and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook a fairly busy road, rooms at the back have a garden view - not particula...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed for three nights across New Years Eve 2013. Each apartment is divided into two rooms plus a bathroom. The bedroom was a good size and had large wardrobe with plenty of shelves and hanging space and it was very quiet at night. The living room/kitchen was very spacious and was very well equipped with thoughtful touches throughout.

The breakfast choices were as good as most 3 star hotels but the New Years Eve dinner was a much higher standard and the restaurant was clearly popular with non-hotel residents.

All the staff were friendly and helpful and it was a pleasant riverside walk to the city centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aparthotel Castelnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Castelnou

Address: Kasteellaan 51, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ghent
#5 Family Hotel in Ghent
#7 Business Hotel in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Castelnou 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Aparthotel Castelnou reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Castelnou Ghent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aparthotel Castelnou, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.