We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel with Character, Central and Comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghent River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Ghent River Hotel to your Saves list
Ghent River Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Explore Ghent!!
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Cascais, Portugal
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Hotel with Character, Central and Comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We were in Ghent to go to the design fair and this hotel was great for our stay.

The rooms has exposed brick walls and exposed wooden beams, high ceilings and views over the river, the all creating a great atmosphere. The beds were large and comfortable and the showers had jet functions and great pressure. The all made for a great night sleep.

The hotel was very well located with parking right outside and walking distance from a huge variety of restaurants.

Its definitely somewhere I would stay again.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RIVER72, Manager at Ghent River Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Mrs P,

Greetings from the Ghent River Staff! So very nice of you to write such positive feedback.
If a guest writes our hotel is definitively a place to return to, we know we our job well!

We are also very happy to hear that you appreciated the exposed wooden beams, high ceilings and views over the river in your room. I agree these elements contribute to the authentice atmosphere.

Hopefully my staff can welcome you again in our hotel during your next visit to our lovely city; maybe next year during the Design Fair! If you wish to book the same type of room again, we always recommend you to specify this in your booking.

Kind regards,

Philippe Destray
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    210
    100
    37
    9
See reviews for
57
252
11
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Had a wonderful stay here at ghent river.
The room is spacious, staff are friendly, breakfast is good and lastly when we left for paris they let us leave our heavy luggages and stored then for us since we are comming back after our paris trip. Overall i would always come back to ghent river hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Located on a side street to the Virjdagsmarkt this is an ideal spot to stay if you are spending a few days in Ghent.
The hotel has a good facilities (free wifi), bar, decent breakfast with great views over city.
The only downside seemed to be a general smokey note to the hotel corridors however this is a common problem in most Belgian hotels.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the river rather than the road. Much quieter at the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I really like this hotel, its quite central in the city and within walkin distance to the Fridaymarket, Virjdagsmarkt, where there is a parking garage. It is also quite close to the Genever bar, which is a must see if you are in Gent.

Room Tip: try to get rooms a couple of floors up, there is sometimes quite noicy in the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

I was very kindly upgraded by hotel (as a result of a birthday celebration) and this led to the suite! Though it had minimal lighting (perhaps due to restrictions by being a loft conversion?) it was large and full of character. The staff were helpful in trying to make the lighting better, albeit with no success, and also on check-in. Check-out was prompt. It may help to have curtain on outside and a sliding window as it was difficult to open the curtain fully due to the interfering beams and the other window was facing the brick wall of the new building. May help to have more sockets so that additional free-standing lamps can be made available. These are small issues though as we use the hotel as a base and I for one don't read much, and it is branded as a historic hotel. (There was a small airy sitting area in the corridor outside).
We didn't have breakfast as the food (and beer!) from night before filled us up but suggest that the price could have been reduced to attract us.
Fantastic location near squares having good bars/restaurants.
May be useful on website to say how to get to hotel from nearest tram / bus stops. I could not spot this but eventually managed to glean that Tram no 1 from Korenmarkt was nearest and it was a straightforward 5-10 min walk to it

Room Tip: If you like traditional style room, with beams and are prepared to get on with limited lighting the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

The Good:
We got a good rate via Expedia secret rooms.
Lovely spring flowers in reception.
Free wi-fi worked, if slow at times.
Great location for bar hopping.

The Bad:
The corridor smelt vaguely of cigarette smoke.
Room was very small.
Double bed seemed small.
Thin pillows.
No tea/coffee making facilities in room.
Our tiny bathroom only had a shower.
Hot water wasn't very hot.
The safe would not lock, giving an error message instead. Housekeeping tried to help but landed up replacing it with a completely portable one.
Room keys expired half way through our stay -disabling room access, of course this occurred when we were in an real hurry. It was quickly, if apathetically fixed and no apology or explanation was offered.
We were on the ground floor and overhung the river which meant gnats were a problem when the window was left open.

The Ugly:
Our room stunk of stale cigarette smoke. Probably why the window was open when we arrived.
We left feeling quite bad because of the stale air in our room.
Overly expensive tea and coffee (especially when you consider the components of green tea!)
We could hear far too much from the rooms around and above us.
Friends paid the same rate and had a larger room and a bath. Because their room was higher, and not over the river they could leave their window open so they didn't notice a smell in there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
272 reviews 272 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

I had stayed in the Ghent River Hotel several times. I like particularly its location - being close to many restaurants and bars, and a fairly large underground carpark. It takes only a short walk to the centre of the old town. The breakfast room on the top floor is good for a refreshing start of the day. Rooms were clean and reasonably equipped. However (1) wifi connection in some of the rooms that I stayed were very slow, if not impossible; (b) the bar is disappointingly small (but why drink there when there are so many good/lively bars in Ghent stocked with such a great variety of beers?); (c) one of the room I stayed had a large (and heavy?) steel shaft, possibly from a ship, overhanging below the ceiling just above my bed - and that caused me bad dreams; (d) insulation requires improvement - not only noises from neighbours who came back from bars, but also from the students practising brass instruments in the music academy next door.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floor rooms and avoid rooms on ground floor - noises and humidity from the river at t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ghent River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ghent River Hotel

Address: Waaistraat 5, Ghent 9000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Flanders > East Flanders Province > Ghent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Ghent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ghent River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ghent River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghent River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.