We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of le Duc

le Duc
Hoogstraat 23, Ghent, Belgium
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 537 Restaurants in Ghent
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Gent, Oost-Vlaanderen, Belgium
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“one of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

only a few steps away from the heart of the city but definitely one of the best places in Gent.
A young chef and a young owner/host make sure you are spoiled from the beginning to the end. Dimitri watches over his guests and makes sure everything goes smooth.
Classical french kitchen with italian touches are the basis, but the chef always finds ways to come with new and refreshing ideas. Top quality ingedients and nice wines for a fair price.
We tried to keep the place secret, but it's too good not to share :-)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri C, Owner at le Duc, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for the very nice review.
I hope to see you soon, to enjoy a next diner
Kinds regards

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    21
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent meal at Le Duc”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great food and service. The five course menu was excellent,only let down a little by the dessert which was slightly disappointing. Bit of a hiccup when the credit card machine packed up and all the cash machines around the area were also down. However we had a lovely evening , the host Dimitri is clearly destined for great things with this fairly new but impressive restaurant . Highly recommended !!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri C, Owner at le Duc, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thanks for your review,
again sorry for the problems with the credit card machine

Kinds regards
Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great dinner tastes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We ate a set dinner here at the occasion of the resto-days. We enjoyed every single course, the wine arrangement complemented beautifully with the dishes, I can't understand why the place was not fully booked. Unknown maybe? We will be back, maybe to sit under that beautiful three in the garden if the weather allows it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri C, Owner at le Duc, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thanks for the review
kind regards
Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Exquisite food in an elegant and comfortable restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

When we entered Le Duc, we were immediately warmly welcomed by the owner, who showed us our table in his homely restaurant. A minute later, I felt in love with this place:
- the restaurant is located in a stately home, renovated with lots of taste,
- the tables have ample space between them, so that there is no risk to find your neighbour’s elbow in your plate,
- the light is pleasantly tempered with lots of candles around,
- finally, there is soft pleasant classic music throughout the evening.

The dinner was in line with the elegant surroundings. We took the “Menu Dégustation”, which was out of this world. It included:
- various amuses, including tasty, marinated halibut,
- starter: carpaccio de Saint-Jacques, tender, tasty and delicious,
- a curry soup with mussels, same judgment
- main course: monk fish, green asparagus and risotto. I am a great monk fish lover, but this one was really deliciously prepared, very firm and tasty with a light truffle sauce. The asparagus was also cooked to perfection. In most gourmet restaurants, you get a tiny portion of well prepared food. In Le Duc, we got a deep plate full of this superb dish.
- desert: fresh little strawberries with light, heavenly ice-cream.
The dinner was accompanied by two bottles of an elegant St. Veran, for € 47 per bottle, not cheap, but a worthy companion to this excellent dinner.

I was so pleased that the next day, without telling my wife, I went back to see whether this place really deserves so much praise. It was, indeed, equally excellent. I ordered the house chardonnay, which was much cheaper than the St. Veran and also very pleasant. Not long ago, I wrote a (deservedly) harsh review about another restaurant in Ghent, “Bord’eau”, located in a beautiful setting, but serving mediocre food, served by untrained, clumsy people. Le Duc is located in a rather busy street just outside the city center. The culinary feast which is waiting for you is well worth the five minutes extra walk. To me, this is one of the top restaurants of Ghent.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri C, Owner at le Duc, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review
it means a lot for me.

I hope to see you soon

Kinds regards

Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Superb dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

One of the very best fish dinners that I have ever had. I am a very seasoned traveller but this is my first review. Mark (Cape Town)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dimitri C, Owner at le Duc, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thanks for your review, great to read this

Kinds regards
Dimitri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed le Duc also viewed

Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 
Ghent, East Flanders Province
Ghent, East Flanders Province
 

Been to le Duc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage le Duc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.